Taylor Swift Book Tag

tsbt.jpg

I doubt that lots of my online pals know this (music doesn’t tend to come up much when you run a book blog!), but I am a big fan of Taylor Swift. I’m not quite as big a fan as some (I don’t own Taylor Swift merch) but I do know pretty much all of her songs – even the older country ones – and make it a priority to buy her new albums as soon as they come out.

Continue reading

YA Shot Blog Tour: Guest Post by Tom Easton

Very excitingly, this guest post from author Tom Easton is part of the YA Shot blog tour. YA Shot is an all-day event, with loads of panels and workshops with YA authors, held in London. I went in 2016 and had an absolute blast, so I am so happy to be helping spread the word about YA and building up some online buzz in the run up to the event (which is on the 14th of April).

The guest post from Tom is engaging and very interesting – he’s discussing women in sport, as well as the value of sport in our society, a bit of feminism, and how this all ties in to his books. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

A quick side note: keep an eye on my Twitter for a giveaway of a copy of Girls Can’t Hit by Tom Easton!

EDIT: the giveaway is up and open till the 4th of April! See info in the post on how to enter.

yashotblogtourbanner1

Continue reading

Social Media Tag

smt.jpg

I’m excited to be doing the Social Media Tag on my blog today – a big thank you to Bex for tagging me a long while back! While this isn’t technically bookish, as it’s based around social media (haha what a coincidence!), I’ve gotten to talk about lots of bloggers, and I’ve been selecting bookish people – so there is still plenty of bookish love to be found here, and I would recommend all the blogs I’m linking to.

Continue reading

Review: The Exact Opposite of Okay

exact

Title: The Exact Opposite of Okay
Author: Laura Steven
Publisher: Electric Monkey
UK Release Date: 8th March 2018
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Feminism
Format: Proof
Source: Publisher’s YALC stand

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has . . .

Back in the summer, when I attended YALC, one of the proofs I was most excited to have picked up from the publishers’ stands around the hall was The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven. Within YA, contemporaries are definitely my preferences, and I heard that there was some feminism in there as well, so I was completely sold on it! It did take me till January to finally read it, but I was not disappointed – it was worth the wait. (Also, can we take a moment briefly to appreciate that gorgeous cover?!)

Continue reading

Guest Post: A Female Author I Admire #FeministFebruary

Earlier this month, as part of a celebration of women gaining the vote for the first time in February 1918, I participated in a celebratory series run by Jo of My Little Library in the Attic. I really enjoyed writing a piece on a female writer I admire (my choice being Louise O’Neill), and so I thought I would share the opening paragraph here, as well as a link to the full post.

Continue reading

Books and Bath Bombs

babb.jpg

I’m sure that I’m not the only bookworm who absolutely loves to have a long hot bath with a book to keep me company. The experience is generally preferable in winter, but even in summer I have been known to have a bath with a book (I also think this proves how daring bookworms can be, as there is obviously the risk of dropping your book in the bath *winks*).

Continue reading

Review: Troublemakers by Catherine Barter

61dJy51CxxL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgTitle: Troublemakers
Author: Catherine Barter
Publisher: Andersen
UK Release Date: 1st June 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 384
Format: Proof
Source: Local independent bookshop

A Great Read – less than RRP!

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

‘In three years I will be able to vote and I will still have less power than I did at the moment that I saw that email, which was such a tiny thing but look what happened.’

Fifteen-year-old Alena never really knew her political activist mother, who died when she was a baby. She has grown up with her older half-brother Danny and his boyfriend Nick in the east end of London. Now the area is threatened by a bomber who has been leaving explosive devices in supermarkets. It is only a matter of time before a bomb goes off.

Against this increasingly fearful backdrop, Alena seeks to discover more about her past, while Danny takes a job working for a controversial politician. As her family life implodes, and the threat to Londoners mounts, Alena starts getting into trouble. Then she does something truly rebellious.

A searing, heart-breaking coming-of-age tale for fans of Lisa Williamson, Jenny Downham and Sarah Crossan.

When I attended YALC 2017, I was lucky enough to get my proof of Troublemakers signed – and it was then that I realised that, although I had gushed about this book on Twitter and briefly in other blog posts, I had not yet done a full length review. I decided that I needed to write up a full review straight away, as I really did adore this book!

Continue reading

New Year’s Resolutions Book Tag

nyrbt

So I know that it has been over three weeks since 2018 began, but since I was busy participating in blog tours, it slipped my mind to post about my bookish resolutions for this year. Happily, my lovely sister Bex (from My Shelf and Myself) tagged me in the New Year’s Resolution tag. I thought that doing this would let me do a tag and flesh out my resolutions on the blog, so it’s all worked out quite nicely. Anyway, on to the tag!

Continue reading

Shortlisted for the #UKYABA

ukyaba

To be honest, I’ve been debating whether or not to write a thank you and acknowledgement post for this. Ever since I stopped doing monthly wrap ups (I got very behind, and then haven’t started them again), I feel like I haven’t been able to write updates particularly on what’s going on in my blogging life, as I wouldn’t want to turn them into a whole post, yet they never really slot in at the bottom of anything. Anyway, that’s beside the point – today, I wanted to make an exception to what seems to have become the rule to share some exciting news: I’ve been shortlisted in the UKYA Blogger Awards!

Continue reading