My Summer Reading List

lolA couple of weeks ago, I decided that I wanted to come up with a summer reading list. I did some research online, found lots of books that I was interested in reading, and wrote them all down. Then, I completely forgot about the list. I didn’t own many of them, some of them weren’t really books I’d thought much about reading before, and it was stupidly long. Considering I was going to want to read books that weren’t on the list as well as books that were, there was no way I was going to get through all of them.

So, this morning I decided that I would come up with another list. I kept it brief, I chose books that I already owned so there was no excuse not to read them, and I picked ones that I’d been meaning to read for ages. I know that technically we’re over half way through the summer already, but I’m hoping I’ll be able to balance reading them as well as some other books. 

I am aware that there is not a lot of YA on this list, and that is largely because I’ve bought a few YA books recently, but the books that I have been meaning to read for ages are primarily not YA (but I’m posting a haul soon of all the YA books I’ve purchased over the last few weeks!). Update: I posted the haul! You can read it here.

The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness – I read The Knife of Never Letting Go near the end of last year, and it was brilliant. The concept was fantastic, it was packed with plot twists, and it has been one of the only books in the last few months that has made me cry. Seeing as I enjoyed that, I think that it would be very logical to read the sequel over the summer.

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga – I was initially drawn to this book by the title and the beautiful front cover, and while the main theme of the book is quite heavy, I’m hopeful that I’ll enjoy it.

Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner – I’ve read the first couple of chapters of this already, and I thought that it was great that economic concepts were explained with interesting examples in such an engaging way, so during the summer it seemed like a good idea to read the rest.

One Day by David Nicholls – I have owned this book for a year and a half, so it’s definitely about time that I read it. I’ve seen a bit of the film, so I’d like to watch the whole thing properly after reading the book, and David Nicholls has written quite a few books that I’m interested in reading, so One Day seems like a good place to start.

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden – one of my friends read this and recommended it to me, and I thought it sounded really interesting. It’s quite different to my normal choice in book, as it’s a historical book set in Asia, but I’m hoping that it’ll be fun to read regardless, and reading something different will be a good challenge.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – this is another book that’s been recommended to me by a friend. I have read the first three hundred pages of this book already, but seeing as it’s over eight hundred and fifty pages long, I figured that the five hundred odd pages that I still need to read meant I could add it to the list.

Finding Sky by Joss Stirling – the tagline on the cover of this book featured the word ‘soulmate’, and I’ve read some really great books about soulmates, such as Soulmates by Holly Bourne and The Name On Your Wrist by Helen Hiorns, but I haven’t read one for a while, so I am looking forward to reading this.

These are my summer selections! Have any of you read these, and what did you think? What’s on your summer reading list? If you’re looking for something to put on your summer reading list, you could check out my posts on recent summer releases and upcoming summer releases (although most of them have been released by now!).

Update: my summer reading list didn’t quite go as planned – I wrote a post which you can read here about why I think I didn’t read them all, and why that’s not completely a bad thing.

2 thoughts on “My Summer Reading List

Leave a Reply

