Review: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

kill the boy band.jpgOkay, so just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near The Ruperts, our favorite boy band.

We didn’t mean to kidnap one of the guys. It kind of, sort of happened that way. But now he’s tied up in our hotel room. And the worst part of all, it’s Rupert P. All four members of The Ruperts might have the same first name, but they couldn’t be more different. And Rupert P. is the biggest flop out of the whole group.

We didn’t mean to hold hostage a member of The Ruperts, I swear. At least, I didn’t. We are fans. Okay, superfans who spend all of our free time tweeting about the boys and updating our fan tumblrs. But so what, that’s what you do when you love a group so much it hurts.

How did it get this far? Who knows. I mean midterms are coming up. I really do not have time to go to hell.

Before I begin to talk about this book, I’d just like to note that there is another cover (the one I’ve included is the one from the paperback) and there were several blurbs online. However, I have chosen my favourite one to include here, as in my opinion, it gives the clearest idea of what the book is about. (Also, how cool is that cover? It looks like a tour poster for a boy band, which fits in really well with the theme of the book, and I thought it was very striking as well!)

My first thought when I finished reading Kill the Boy Band was something along the lines of ‘wow, that was quite strange, but really good’. Events in the book escalated rather quickly and so I would still say now that it was quite strange, but it was also entertaining, and has definitely left an impression on me. I don’t think I’ve read anything like it, as fandoms are rather new in the grand scheme of things, and even with the recent trend of writing about boy bands and musical groups, they have more followed a girl travelling with the group as opposed to four fangirls and a series of events that end up getting a little bit out of control.

All but one of the characters were really distinctive, and I thought it was interesting that within their friendship group, formed entirely of fans of the band, they all played different roles in making the story move along. Then there was the protagonist, who I cannot name, as her name is not actually revealed at any point in the story. Every time she is asked, she provides a fake name, and this in combination with the way the book ends definitely left me wondering if the protagonist was an unreliable narrator. This was really effective, as it meant I finished the book questioning what I’d just read.

One of the characters in the book was very critical of fandoms and fangirls, and this made me review my own opinion, as she made some interesting points, but I think there are also many ways that fandoms can have a positive effect on someone, so that part of the book was thought-provoking. The plot kept you on edge, as there were endless twists and turns, and I was not expecting for the title to be so literal.

Kill the Boy Band was a book that engaged me, kept me wanting more, and made me think, and because of these things, I would definitely recommend it to others – in particular, to people who are members of fandoms themselves!

Kill the Boy Band was first published in hardback on the 23rd of February 2016 by Pointand in paperback on the 19th of May 2016 by Macmillan Children’s Books. You can find out more on Goodreads here, or purchase a copy on Amazon here.

2 thoughts on “Review: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

Leave a Reply

