Book Haul #1

edited

I’ve purchased several new books over the past week or so, and I thought it would be fun to write a post about my haul (especially when I had very specific reasons for buying each one!). Also, even though I am trying to save these until I have made my way through the read of my TBR pile, I have read a chapter or two of each, and can confirm they are all great books.

Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman – this book is about a girl called Skye, who witnessed the death of her sister and is now being sent on a camp for the summer with other teenagers who have lost someone. However, someone begins to text her and say that they are her sister. It sounds mysterious and intriguing, so I can’t wait to read it. (Edit: I posted a review of this book here)

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall – Norah is a teenage girl with agoraphobia and OCD, and the story follows her struggle to cope with this, but also her friendship with the new boy next door. Ever since I saw this book in my Twitter feed, I was desperate to read it. I read the blurb and thought it sounded interesting, and found a preview of the first chapter online, which only made me want to read it more. Also, if you haven’t already, look up the cover. It is one of the most gorgeous covers ever, and it only made me want to read it more. I must confess that I have read more than a chapter or two of this one (more like six chapters) but I have decided that I will read this book slowly, which will be a challenge as normally I like to read as fast as I can, in order to appreciate it as fully as possible, because I don’t know when I will find a book this great again. (Edit: I posted a review of this book here)

Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley – like Under Rose-Tainted Skies, this book is also about agoraphobia. However, this book is about a boy called Solomon, and a girl who he used to go to school with, who decides to make a project out of trying to help Solomon. It sounds like a really interesting idea, and I’m curious to see what happens. (Edit: I posted a review of this book here)

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider – I think I first saw this book at a bookshop in about December last year, and the first thing I thought was about how gorgeous the cover is! I know you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, and I don’t think I do particularly – I think for me, if I’m interested in a book, I’ll end up reading it eventually, but the prettier the cover, the faster my interest is piqued. Anyway, the book focuses on Lane, who is in senior year at school, and has had to move to a boarding school called Latham House because he has an illness. In the chapter I have read so far, there hasn’t been a mention of what the illness is, but I looked in the author’s note at the back, and I think he has tuberculosis. The characterisation that I have seen so far had been truly excellent, and I’m really looking forward to the rest of the book.

On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher – Carrie Hope Fletcher is not only a writer and an actress in musicals but a YouTuber too, and seeing as I’ve watched a few of her videos, I was interested to know about her book when it came out, and thought that it was a really original concept. Evie Snow has just died a happy death, but her soul has been made heavy by her secrets, and she cannot pass through to heaven without letting go of these secrets. I think it’s a great idea, and the first couple of chapters were very well written, so I’m hoping that I will enjoy it.

So that was my book haul! I mentioned On the Other Side in a post on upcoming summer releases and Under Rose-Tainted Skies in a post on recent summer releases, so I’m glad that I’ll finally get the chance to read them both, and all the other books I’ve had my eye on for a couple of weeks. Have any of you read these books? Or do you have these on your TBR pile? I’d be interested to know, so tell me in the comments.

9 thoughts on “Book Haul #1

Leave a Reply

