Review: Nightwanderers by C. J. Flood

nightwanderersIt all started with a poo in a flowerbed.

Rosie and Titania are as close as sisters – closer, in fact. While Rosie is shy, red-faced and passive, Ti is big, tough and daring. They shouldn’t be friends, but they are.

Creeping out at night, the girls love to secretly wander through their coastal town, exploring empty streets and sharing their frustrations about school and their different, but equally difficult, families.

But when Rosie betrays Ti, the two girls run in different directions – making decisions that could do irreparable damage to both of their lives. As Rosie confronts harsh truths, she must find a way back to Ti, and to herself.

In the majority of the reviews that I’ve written so far, there have been very few things that I have disliked about the books, or not many aspects that I would’ve changed. I always try to include something that could improve the book, as I think that it helps to add a bit of balance, but ultimately they are rather insignificant things. Unfortunately, I didn’t really enjoy Nightwanderers that much, so there are more aspects that I disliked than normal. I did consider not posting a review at all, but I’ve decided to write one for several reasons. Firstly, it wasn’t all bad – there are definitely a few things which positively contribute to the book, and I do want to mention them. Secondly, I started a book blog to talk about my opinion on books, among other things, and I can’t shy away from doing this because my opinion isn’t as positive as normal. Finally, in order for me to feel like I’m reviewing books properly, I have to be honest, and I feel like if I never wrote reviews with a more negative slant, it would undermine the credibility of my rave reviews, because it would seem as if I never noticed negatives. However, at the bottom of this review, I will link to some more positive reviews so that, on the whole, anyone reading this can see multiple opinions.

The main reason that I didn’t particularly enjoy Nightwanderers was because there was quite a lot I disliked about the characters, and it was a character-driven novel, so the characters made up quite a lot of the story. The protagonist, Rosie, absolutely loved her best friend, Ti, but I felt like many of Rosie’s actions undermined their actions – for example, she told Ti that she would confess to her part in an incident which got Ti expelled, but once in the office with their head teacher, she was too afraid to tell the truth. I understand that she didn’t want to stress her parents, especially as her mother was ill; I was just a little irked by her empty promises. She also said some very cruel things about her mother, and again, I acknowledge that she was in a stressful situation – I just thought that the way she expressed her feelings and what she said were unnecessarily harsh.

I also wasn’t very fond of Ti, Rosie’s best friend. The events of the book began because Ti and Rosie had a grudge against a teacher, and Ti did a poo in her garden. While this idea is fairly humorous, I thought it was quite an unrealistic, as from a practical perspective, the logistics don’t quite add up for me. while Ti was a bold and boisterous character, which I did quite like, I thought that pooing in someone’s garden stretched these traits a little. On the whole, many of the things that Ti and her sister, Ophelia, did stretched what was realistic for me.

However, there were a few aspects that I did quite like. Ti and Ophelia were very loyal to each other, and I really liked this about the book, and I thought it also made Ophelia slightly more likeable, as beneath her cold and hard exterior, she had a real soft spot for Ti. I also liked Kiaru and Alisha, as they were both really fun characters, and they were very welcoming and friendly in befriending Rosie after Ti was expelled and Rosie was left friendless.

On the whole, there were a couple of aspects of Nightwanderers which I enjoyed, but I didn’t really like the protagonists, so I didn’t massively like the book. If you would like to read a couple of reviews from people who enjoyed it more, in order to see some other opinions, I will link to them here. If your opinion differs from mine, I would be interested to hear about it as well.

Where Do  Begin 123 review

Queen of Contemporary review

Nightwanderers was published on the 2nd of June 2016 by Simon & Schuster UK. You can find out more on Goodreads here, or purchase a copy on Amazon here.

One thought on “Review: Nightwanderers by C. J. Flood

Leave a Reply

