SundayYAthon Recap

I’d never done a readathon before, so when I saw that Rachel (@_babblebooks) was organising one, the #SundayYAthon, for a couple of days where I didn’t have much on, I decided that it would be a lot of fun to participate. I recently borrowed quite a few books from my local library, so I also thought that it would be a good way of getting through some of those so I can return them ASAP!

The Day Before – I selected my books! (my choices are in the picture below) There was a fair amount of discussion using the hashtag on Twitter about what people were going to be reading, and there was also a group that everyone messaged about their choice in books, and I really liked that everyone was getting involved and talking about books even before the event had begun. My goal was to read a book a day, which I’d been doing in the days before anyway, so I hoped that it wasn’t too unachieveable.

readathon

My choices for the readathon.

Day One – I started off with the shortest book, The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock. It wasn’t a very long book; there were approximately 250 pages, but even so I only managed to read 180 pages, as I ended up having a busier day than I’d expected, so there wasn’t as much time as I’d thought there’d be for reading.

Day Two – I did very well on this day, as I finished The Smell of Other People’s Houses pretty quickly, and moved on to Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes. The book was originally published in 2014, but there was a new version with some minor edits published this year, and that was the version I read. This book was just over 300 pages long, and I’m proud to say I managed to finish it and read over 150 pages of Follow Me Back by Nicci Cloke – it was an excellent day for the readathon!

Day Three – I finished Follow Me Back, which meant I could move on to my fourth and final book, Blame by Simon Mayo. I’d been reading them in an order from smallest to biggest, so I knew this was going to be the most time-consuming one to read at about 470 pages. However, I was optimistic that I would get there, and I managed to read the first 100 pages.

Day Four – much like the first day, I was busier than I’d thought I’d be, so I didn’t manage to read that much of it during the day, and as the evening approached, I still had about 140 pages left. There was a Twitter chat which I participated in, as it was a #SundayYA chat about readathons, and it was fun to see what other people thought of the readathon (if you’re interested, I did a post on Twitter chats for book bloggers). At midnight, when the readathon officially ended, I still hadn’t gotten around to finishing off Blame, but I read as fast as I could, and finished before 1 am. I’m not sure if that technically counts, but I was pleased none the less at having read four books in approximately four days.

Overall, I really enjoyed doing the readathon, although I would advise people looking to participate in one to make sure they have a lot of free time, as even though I wasn’t massively busy, I still had less reading time than I thought I would. It was great fun, and if you are looking for a little push to help you get on with some of the books in your TBR pile, or if you just want to read in a social way (as there was so much discussion throughout about the books we were reading!), I would really recommend giving something like the #SundayYAthon a try. Also, a massive thank you to Rachel (@_babblebooks) for organising the event – it was awesome!

6 thoughts on “SundayYAthon Recap

Leave a Reply

