My Favourite Wattpad Books

Quite a while ago, I wrote a post about why I thought Wattpad was relevant to book blogging, and I mentioned that I planned on doing more posts about Wattpad on this blog. Well, today I am going to be recommending some Wattpad books! When you first join, it can be quite daunting to try and find something to read from all the books available, as even though the books are categorised, there is so much choice! Hopefully sharing my favourites will give a place to start.

saving elliotSaving Elliot, by Wattpad user northbynorth, is possibly my favourite Wattpad book of all time. There is quite a lot of swearing, which might put you off the book, but personally I thought it worked well, as the author made the point that a lot of teenagers do swear, and seeing as the main characters are rude and short-tempered (you’ll know what I mean if you read the blurb), it is actually quite fitting with their personalities. The story focuses on a boy and a girl, both named Elliot, who absolutely despise each other, but are living in the same house because Elliot’s (girl) mother decided to take him in because things weren’t working for him in America. The characterisation is rich, the chapters are long, the writing is incredible, and it is simultaneously raw with emotion and hilariously witty. This book is the one I would recommend the most. Also, the author is currently re-writing it, and there are some minor differences, so even if you’ve read it already, you get to read it all over again!

light as a featherLight as a Feather, Stiff as a Board, by Wattpad user zaarsenist, is actually available to buy on Amazon, but it’s also on Wattpad, so you can read the entire thing for free. The first time I saw this story, I was completely hooked by the blurb alone, and couldn’t wait to start reading. It’s about a group of popular girls, and one of the new additions to the group predicts the death of three of the girls at a sleepover one night – and then the first one comes true. The blurb is pretty long, and gives a more in-depth idea of what the book is about, so I would suggest checking it out if this is your kind of book. It is quite creepy, and is categorised as paranormal, so maybe avoid it if ghosts aren’t your thing, but it is very well-written.

human errorHuman Error, by Wattpad user leigh_, is a story that is still in the process of being written (on Wattpad, stories are uploaded on a chapter by chapter basis, so you can’t necessarily read the whole thing at once), and I’m absolutely hooked so far! It follows Astrid, a beautiful and intelligent teenager, who lives in a futuristic society where the richest children, herself included, have been genetically engineered to be talented. However, people are starting to become more aware of this, and want something done about those with a genetic advantage. It’s intriguing, and mysterious, and well-written, and I’m always very excited when I see that it’s been updated.

worst storyWorst Story on Wattpad, by Wattpad user arcticstars, is a story that I have read at least five or six times, which plays on the stereotypes that occur in a lot of Wattpad stories. Even though I’ve read it already, I laugh every single time I read it because it is just so hilarious! It is very random, but that is part of the entertainment factor, and it’s only four chapters, so it’s very quick to read.

betting boyBetting Boy, which is posted on TheCheatersClub Wattpad account but was written by Wattpad user Reekles, is also being uploaded at the moment, and I didn’t think I could leave it off the list when it was written by one of my favourite authors! I loved her other books, so when I found out she was going to be writing a story online, I knew that I had to read it. There aren’t very many chapters up so far, but I love the characters, and it’s a really fun book, so I would recommend it. (Also, if you are a fan of The Kissing Booth, there is a free novella about the characters on Wattpad called The Beach House so you should definitely check that out!)

I’m going to wrap this post up now, as there are lots of other amazing books on Wattpad which aren’t my absolute favourites, but I still really enjoyed (in fact, so many more books have been coming to mind that I may have to do another blog post!). Do let me know if you decide to read any of these books!

3 thoughts on “My Favourite Wattpad Books

  1. Akaluv says:

    …no comment on those books. I used to read stories on Wattpad, and the only books people ever write about are the same ones over and over again – romance and teen fiction.

    Like

    • bookendsandendings says:

      I know what you mean – there is a heavy slant towards teen fiction and romance. However, I did try on the list to include works that covered a variety of genres, such as paranormal and dystopian, and in Betting Boy the characters are at university, so it’s technically new adult. I guess there aren’t many professional writers on Wattpad, which may account for the lack of variety you mentioned, but I think it’s great that it’s gotten so many people trying their hand at writing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

