Review: Sunny Side Up by Holly Smale

sunny side upHarriet Manners knows many facts.

And she knows everything there is to know about Paris… except what to do when you’re the hottest new model at Fashion Week.

Can Harriet find her je ne sais quoi or will it be sacré bleu! on the runway?

Sunny Side Up wasn’t a full length Geek Girl book; instead, it was more of a seasonal special, set over a couple of days in between the fourth and fifth books in the Geek Girl series (a review of the fifth book will be coming soon!). However, this fact did not detract from my enjoyment of the book, as it was just as hilarious as normal, and I particularly loved the setting.

I cannot read a Geek Girl book without cringing at the embarrassing and awkward situations Harriet always ends up getting into, and this book was no exception. Her hilarious mishaps made me laugh, but also made me feel bad for her, as she was rather unlucky with the sheer quantity of things that went wrong – from needing the toilet in the middle of fashion show and wearing the wrong dress, to getting lost on the way to an event and having a technical difficulty at just the wrong moment.

Another thing I enjoyed about this book was the setting. I thought France was a great choice in setting, particularly when it is seen as a fashionable city (I’m no expert on anything to do with fashion, so correct me if I’m wrong there). I liked the selections in places for the fashion events to take place, as I thought they weren’t typical selections of landmarks in Paris, so it was pleasantly unexpected, although it would’ve been fun if there was one or two more common ones, as I would’ve liked to have read about Harriet in locations that I’m familiar with!

One of my favourite things about the book which really caught my attention when I found out about it was the inclusion of a bonus chapter at the end. The chapter was about events at the beginning of the first Geek Girl book; however, it was from Nick’s perspective! I absolutely loved this, as it was really interesting to see how Nick’s plans for his future had been something he’d been thinking of for a while, and I liked seeing a little more about him and his background with the modelling world. I also enjoyed seeing Nick from Harriet’s perspective, as Harriet was very surprised to have been picked out for modelling, but when you saw events from Nick’s point of view, she was made to seem like the obvious choice – and Nick was very sweet in the way he thought about if Harriet would want to be a model!

Overall, Sunny Side Up was a fun addition to the Geek Girl series. There were funny moments and awkward moments, with a lovely ending – and the extra chapter from Nick’s point of view was definitely a highlight for me. If you are a fan of all things Geek Girl, you should get reading this book!

Sunny Side Up was published on the 30th of June 2016 by Harper Collins Children’s Books. You can find out more on Goodreads here, or purchase a copy on Amazon here.

One thought on “Review: Sunny Side Up by Holly Smale

Leave a Reply

