Book Haul #2

haul.jpg

I haven’t been buying masses of books recently, as I’ve been borrowing them from the library – they had a lot of 2016 releases in stock, which I was very happy about!. However, I thought I would post about the books I acquired somewhat recently. (there will probably be another post like this soon, as I’ve got my eye on a few of the recent releases I posted about as well)

Popular: a Memoir by Maya Van Wagenen – in the time it’s taken me to write this up, I managed to read this book! It’s a true story, about a girl called Maya who discovers a popularity guide written by a model from the 1950s, and decides to see if the advice will work and write about it. The book is funny and touching, and it was one I thoroughly enjoyed – I think that it is definitely worth reading, and we can all learn something from it.

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill – I have read this book twice before (I feel it is something of an essential for feminist book lovers) but both times it was a library copy, so I decided to purchase it at last, as it is probably one of my favourite books. As soon as I’d bought it, I read it for the third time, and I’m sure I’ll read it again. I’d like to do a post on great YA for feminists, and if I do, this book will be featured without a shadow of a doubt; I honestly cannot recommend it enough.

The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel – this book looks very interesting, as from the blurb, it seems like a dystopian book, slightly mysterious, with romance and action too. The world has been destroyed by nuclear warfare, and Ivy, along with new traditions, must marry the son of their rival family. However, she plans to kill her husband to regain power for her family. The combination of plot aspects have piqued my interest, so I’m keen to read it.

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis – in this book, the world has reached a point where there is very limited access to water, and the protagonist, Lynn, is fiercely protective over her pond. However, there are new threats emerging, and she thinks people are going to come for her water. I am intrigued by the blurb, and I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it.

So those were a couple of my somewhat recent purchases! Have you read any of these? Have you bought any books recently?

Leave a Reply

