Favourite Books by YA Shot Authors & Books by YA Shot Authors I’m Excited to Read

yashot-promo

I am so excited for YA Shot tomorrow, and I thought that there was no better way to prepare myself than thinking about some of my favourite books by YA Shot authors – all of which I’m hoping to get signed tomorrow! I’ve also written a bit extra at the end about some books by YA Shot authors that I’m really looking forward to reading, some of which have been released, and some of which haven’t.

yashot-read

Obviously, both of Alice Oseman’s books, Solitaire and Radio Silence had to feature on this list when they’re some of my all-time favourite YA books (and Radio Silence is one of my favourite books of the year). Both of them are exceptionally well-written, with excellent characters and such insight into teenagers. Alice Oseman is such a fantastic writer, and she is definitely one of those authors whose books I will read automatically.

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury is another book that I loved. Normally I stick to contemporary YA, but sometimes I branch out a bit – in this instance, into fantasy – and it was so, so worth it for this book. It’s one of my favourite books that I’ve read this year, and I’m so excited to read the third book in the series in 2017.

Lisa Heathfield’s debut, Seed, was so intense, and I’ve remembered the whole story even though I read it over a year ago. It’s a sensational, thrilling novel that will have you on the edge of your seat the whole time you’re reading it, and so it felt like an obvious choice when writing about some of my favourite books from YA Shot authors.

The last book on this list feels like an obvious choice – Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne. This book is an absolutely incredible exploration of the life of Evie, a teenage girl who is trying to cope with life at a new school, and navigating friendships and romance, as well as OCD. I cannot emphasise enough how fantastic this book is.

And now, because so many sprang to mind when I thought of this here are five books by authors who are attending YA Shot that I haven’t read yet, either because they haven’t been released yet, or because they’ve come out fairly recently, and I haven’t yet had the time.

yashot-tbr

First up is Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland. I was so excited when I found out that she was going to be attending YA Shot, as I read a sample of her book online, and it was great! I have bought a copy of her book, but haven’t had time to read it yet. Also, it has such a gorgeous cover – I love the fish and the colour scheme.

I first heard about The Graces by Laure Eve at the Wattpad convention in London last year, and I didn’t realise that it was YA, but having seen so many positive reviews online, I am definitely reading it! Again, I have a copy but only got it last week, so haven’t had a chance to read it yet.

Wing Jones by Katherine Webber is only coming out in January, but I am so excited to read it. It seems like such an inspiring and powerful story, about a girl discovering her talent for running. There has been so much hype online about this story, and I think it’ll be one of my favourites of next year.

I really enjoyed Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard, and her second novel, A Quiet Kind of Thunder, has caught my attention as well. As with Wing Jones, it doesn’t come out till January, but the cover was released recently (and it’s gorgeous!) so there’s that to admire until I can read the book itself.

The final book I’m going to mention came out in June (so I really should’ve read it by now!), and that’s The Witch’s Kiss by Elizabeth and Katharine Corr. It’s a fantasy novel – not my usual contemporary, but after loving The Sin Eater’s Daughter, I feel like branching out into fantasy is well worth it – and it was co-written by a pair of sisters, which sounds really cool! It seems such a fun novel, and I’m really looking forward to reading it.

What are your favourite novels by YA Shot authors? Is there anything that you’re super keen to read? Also, who else is excited for YA Shot tomorrow? I can’t wait!

5 thoughts on “Favourite Books by YA Shot Authors & Books by YA Shot Authors I’m Excited to Read

Leave a Reply

