Review: Inferno by Catherine Doyle

infernoSophie’s life has been turned upside-down, and she’s determined to set things right. But Nic, the Falcone brother who represents everything she’s trying to forget, won’t give up on their love – and it’s Luca’s knife she clutches for comfort. Soon another mafia clan spoils the fragile peace – and with her heart drawn in one direction and her blood in another, Sophie’s in deeper than ever.

As with The Sin Eater’s Daughter, I made sure I had the second book in the series ready to read before I even started the first one, as from the amount of positive things I’d heard online, I was fairly certain I would enjoy it – and I was so glad I had the second one because I absolutely loved it.

My favourite thing in a book is always plot twists, and this book managed to absolutely shock me (anyone who has read it will know exactly what I am talking about). I love it when the twist is something that isn’t too far-out or improbable, but at the same time isn’t something you would guess. Catherine Doyle did this exactly right, along with building masses of suspense beforehand, and the overall effect meant I was surprised to say the least! She also proved brutal in killing off characters, which is both good and bad; good in that it does make the story better, but bad in that it’s – for lack of a more sophisticated word – really sad. I almost didn’t believe it had happened at first, and thought that the character would somehow return unharmed, but they didn’t, and the event that happened shaped the rest of the novel.

The way that the book was written was yet another thing that I loved about it. I have no idea how she did it, but somehow the book was so vivid that it was basically like watching a movie in my head. Normally when I read a book, I get so wrapped up in the story that I don’t really leave much consideration for visuals, but I think it would’ve been difficult not to see the events of the book playing out in your mind much like with watching a film, and I had a perfectly clear idea of what everything looked like to me. Not only was this fun and engaging, but it also made me feel like all the emotions of the book were intensified, particularly with the romance. I don’t want to spoil anything, so I won’t say too much on the romance side of things, but I’ve been sort of anticipating it since the first book, and it was definitely the outcome I wanted.

Normally, when I read a series, I find that the first book is the best one. I might enjoy the other books, but they will never be as good as the first, and I was okay with that. There’s something about the world-building and the beginning of the relationships that I enjoy about the first book in a series, and this has been the case for me with so many novels: The Sin Eater’s Daughter (I reviewed the sequel, and still loved it, but I loved the first book in the series more), Divergent, The Hunger Games . . . I could go on. One of the most memorable things for me about this book was that it broke this trend for me; I actually liked the sequel more than the first one, and found myself wanting to rave about it to those around me even more than with the first book. I was so pleased to have found a book that changed this pattern for me, and it means I have high hopes for the third book in the series, Mafiosa, which is coming out in January.

Overall, I seriously loved this book. I am going to admit, I was a little sceptical when I started reading it, as I wasn’t sure if the idea of teenagers in mafia gangs would work, but Catherine Doyle has managed to pull it off, and she has done it extremely well. The only thing I can think of which I didn’t like so much was the fact that it ended on a cliffhanger, as I like closure at the end of a book, but it does mean I am seriously looking forward to the release of the next one. I would definitely recommend this to all lovers of YA, especially if you have a particular interest in dramatic and fast-paced novels with a gripping storyline and a romance that will have you hooked.

Inferno was published on the 7th of January 2016 by Chicken House. You can purchase a copy on Amazon here, or find out more on Goodreads here.

3 thoughts on “Review: Inferno by Catherine Doyle

Leave a Reply

