Book Haul #3

book-haul-3I haven’t bought masses of books recently, but in the last two months or so I acquired a few new books, and I thought it would definitely be fun to talk about them as I am very much looking forward to all of them. Many of them I bought with YA Shot in mind (I wrote a recap of the day if you’d like to know more about my experience of being at YA Shot 2016), as I knew that there were lots of authors attending whose books I hadn’t read, and I thought that a great way to build up the event was purchasing a few of these books, and then to get them signed at the event (although unfortunately I didn’t have time to reading any of them before the event). Also, I know my photo looks a bit weird – I was playing around with my lamp, and I thought the shadows looked cool in a slightly random way!

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland – news of Krystal Sutherland and her début have been making regular appearances on my Twitter feed since July, so this was definitely a book I was very aware of in the run up to the release. I was so excited to get my hands on a copy, and I’ve heard a lot about it – and there was a one chapter sample available online which grabbed my interest further – so it’s a book I’m looking forward to reading. I also mentioned it in my October releases post, where I talked about upcoming releases I was looking forward to in October.

The Graces by Laure Eve – there has been so much love for this book on my Twitter feed, with many people gushing about it, so I knew I had to read it. I’ve also known about it for nearly a year, as Laure Eve mentioned at the London Wattpad Convention 2015 (and if you want to know what Wattpad has to do with book blogging, I wrote a post about it here), and so my interest has been piqued for a while, and I mentioned it in my post on September releases.

Birdy by Jess Vallance – normally I buy recent books to keep up to date with the book world, but I wanted to read a book by Jess Vallance as she’s spoken at multiple events that I’ve attended, and of her two novels, Birdy was the one that caught my eye. I have finished it in the time between YA Shot and writing this blog post, and it was incredible! I don’t want to give too much away, as it would definitely be easy to spoil it by mistake, but I’m planning a post on plot twists, and this one is an obvious one to feature.

As I Descended by Robin Talley – I read Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley earlier this year, and absolutely fell in love with it; I adored the concept, the storyline, the way it was told, and I thought it was really clever and thought-provoking. Obviously, when I heard Robin Talley was releasing another book, this one a Macbeth retelling set in a boarding school with a lesbian couple as the main characters, I knew that I needed to read it. I think this book sounds incredible, and it was also featured in my September releases post.

I would love to know what books you’ve bought recently! Have you read any of these books? What are your thoughts on them?

2 thoughts on “Book Haul #3

  1. Eve @ Twist in the Taile says:

    AAH YAY AS I DESCENDED. I love Robin Talley & I loved As I Descended too! The whole premise is just so great, to be honest. *flails* I read The Graces a little while back so I can’t completely remember what happens (?) but I do recall WITCHERY. And a cool ending. I really hope you enjoy all of these! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

