The What and Why of Blogmas

In case you haven’t seen me tweeting about it, asking for contributors and seeing who else is participating, I’m doing Blogmas this month! To kick things off, I thought I’d do a quick post on what Blogmas is for anyone who hasn’t heard of it, and why I’m doing it.

‘Blogmas’ is a cross between ‘blog’ and ‘Christmas’, if we’re talking literally. It involves doing a blog post every day between the 1st of December and the 25th of December (kind of like an advent calendar, but with blog posts instead of chocolate). Obviously it’s a fairly big commitment – normally I post two or three times a week, so ramping it up to seven times a week is going to take quite a bit of energy and time. However, there were several reasons I wanted to go for it . . .

  1. Because I love Christmas. I am a massive fan of all things Christmassy – I’ve been listening to Christmas music since October, I fully plan on wearing my Christmas jumper all through this month, and I’ve already bought most of the Christmas presents I need to. What else could I possibly do to get in an even more festive mood? Post on my blog every day, with lots of lovely Christmas-themed posts!
  2. Because I love blogging. I honestly love writing blog posts and putting them up here, as it’s a way for me to talk about the books I love (and the books I don’t love), and generally express my opinions about one of my favourite things. Posting every day sounds to me like such a fun thing to do.
  3. To prove I can. When I first considered doing Blogmas, I obviously wanted to do it, but I was a little doubtful that I would be able to find the time. In order to do it, I’m going to have to manage my time really well, and stay on top of the other things I have to do, but I’m determined to do it, and I’m going to prove that if I put my mind to it, I can.

Well, here begins 25 days of blog posts here on my blog! Keep an eye on my blog over this morning, as there is going to be so much fun content, like reviews, recommendations, guest posts and an author interview. Are you doing Blogmas? If not, would you consider doing it next year?

3 thoughts on “The What and Why of Blogmas

Leave a Reply

