Christmas Recommendations

xmas-recs

When I was brainstorming blog posts to do over Blogmas, one of the posts that felt like an obvious choice was definitely some Christmas recommendations to help you get into the festive spirit! These are all books which are set over Christmas (or, in one case, the New Year), and will hopefully make you feel festive.

xmas-1

I thought I’d start with the standard books that are set over a festive period. What Light, by Jay Asher, is about Sierra, whose family moves to California every Christmas in order to run their Christmas tree farm, and meets someone special, bringing new love into her life. My Kinda Book were kind enough to send me a proof copy of this, so expect a review sometime this month!

Let It Snow is a regular book with a plot that runs the whole way through, despite the fact that there are multiple authors. The authors collaborated, so while they each focus on different characters, they all interlink, which is nice as all the loose ends are tied up by the end. I have read this book, and it was such a fun read!

Finally for standard YA books, there is a pair that I feel I have to mention – Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares and The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily. Sadly I haven’t read either of these, but they look so good! I also really like David Levithan’s writing, and have enjoyed some of his other collaborations with Rachel Cohn, so I’m definitely looking forward to reading these. The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily was picked for the second round of the Zoella Book Club as well, so if you enjoyed some of her other selections, you may want to check this out.

xmas-2

Next up I want to talk about some Christmassy short story anthologies. My True Love Gave to Me features so many amazing authors, and was edited by Stephanie Perkins. Her book Anna and the French Kiss was a novel I really loved, so if the standard of her editing is the same of that in her writing, then My True Love Gave to Me will be fantastic. There were also loads of other authors whose books I would recommend who participated, such as David Levithan, who I just mentioned above, Jenny Han, and Gayle Forman.

I’ll Be Home for Christmas strikes me as a UKYA version of My True Love Gave to Me, as it is another anthology, but with some brilliant British authors, such as Holly Bourne (she wrote Am I Normal Yet?, a book I cannot recommend enough), Juno Dawson, and Lisa Williamson. I am hoping to read this really soon in order to write a review towards the end of Blogmas, and I have been looking forward to reading it for such a long time – it was one of my anticipated September releases – so I couldn’t write this post without including it.

xmas-3The last YA book I want to mention is . . . And a Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne. I know that this doesn’t technically fit with the Christmas theme, as it is set at a New Year’s party gone wrong, but it’s approximately the right time of year, and I’ve been anticipating reading this for long before its release in November, so again it felt like an obvious one to include!

xmas-4Finally, I thought I’d include a mention of a well-known festive classic. If you’re looking to branch out from YA, then it would definitely be worth checking out A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – although this is a YA-orientated blog, there is no harm in telling people about a wide range of books, and this book has inspired many spinoff movies and books, so it is definitely a good one to have read!

I hope you feel inspired to be festive by these Christmassy suggestions – let me know what you’re reading this Christmas to get into the spirit of season!

4 thoughts on “Christmas Recommendations

Leave a Reply

