The Prettiest Proofs

proofs.jpg

I love pretty book covers. I know that you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover – and I don’t – but in all honesty I think I’m not alone in saying that sometimes the reason I first look at a book will be because of the cover. Once I’ve picked it up, it’s a different story, as then my focus will shift to the blurb, or I’ll take a closer look if I’ve heard lots of good things about it online, but the cover has still held some sway in getting me to pick up the book in the first place.

However, lots of books don’t just have their main cover; there are the covers of translations, hardback vs paperback editions, reprints (Georgia at The Bibliomaniac did a great blog post on some cool overseas covers) and proofs! In this blog post, I want to talk about some of my favourite covers of proof editions.

The cover art for the proof edition of When We Collided by Emery Lord (which I’ve written a review of!) actually strikes me as being similar in concept to the final cover art. While the book itself has rainbow coloured splatters, and this one is a rainbow burst of colour, they both have the bright colours on a white background, which makes for quite a bold contrast. Add on the effect of having the text in white across the top, and I think the proof cover is very striking! Also, the brightness of the colour really makes me think of the bold characters and the way everything is described so vividly in the book, so it definitely reflects what’s in the book to me.

The proof of The Next Together by Lauren James is actually very similar to the book, as it has a similar effect of layering images in different times and locations to represent how the relationship Katherine and Matthew spans several centuries. I think the overall effect is so gorgeous, and I especially love the way the tagline is spread across it in different fonts, as again it reflects how their romance is broken up over time, and the split in the words feels quite dramatic to me. (I also wrote a post about why you should read Another Together, which is a free short story/ebook about Katherine and Matthew!)

Finally, the cover for The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon is not so much a cover as words, but similarly to with When We Collided, I thought the contrast of colour on white was very effective. I also adore the colour scheme of oranges and pinks and purples – it reminds me of a sunset – and the webbed pattern peeking out at the bottom just has such a cool visual effect. The sentence is also intriguing, and given how much I enjoyed Everything, Everything (which I talked about in my post on my favourite books of 2016 so far!), it makes me anticipate this book even more!

So, these are my favourite proofs! Do you disagree with me on any of these? What book proofs do you think have gorgeous covers?

2 thoughts on “The Prettiest Proofs

Leave a Reply

