Brussel Sprouts, Christmas Jumpers and Her Next Book: An Interview with Louise Gornall

In my very first Blogmas post, I said that I had an exciting author interview coming up, and I am so happy to be posting it now! As soon as I decided to try and get an author involved in Blogmas, I knew that the person I wanted to ask was Louise Gornall, as she is such a lovely person, and because I adored her incredible debut novel, Under Rose-Tainted Skies, which was released in early July this year.

I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to interview her, so here are her answers to a mixture of questions, some Christmassy and some on other writing matters, such as the exciting topic of her second book!

under rose tainted skiesCan you summarise yourself and your book in one sentence for anyone who hasn’t read your book yet? (side note: if you haven’t, please make reading it your priority after reading this)

Rose is about a girl called Norah, who’s fighting a daily battle with her mental health, a battle that gets much more complicated when the threat of a friendship with her new neighbour starts to encroach on her routine.

What’s at the top of your Christmas wishlist?

Am I only allowed to pick one? *gasp* This might take me a second…or several. No, actually, you know what I really really want but still haven’t gotten around to getting? The Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin. It’s been on my wishlist for forever.

If you could receive a copy of one 2017 release for Christmas, what would it be and why?

I so badly want to read One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus. Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars? Two of my absolute favourites. I am beyond sold.

What’s a typical day like for you? Do you write every day?

My days are pretty…uneventful. Like Norah, I suffer with agoraphobia, so leaving the house doesn’t happen all that often. I usually just sit here in my room reading or writing or watching Netflix. At the time of writing this, it’s been almost three weeks since I’ve ventured beyond my driveway. Any day now my family are going to stage an intervention and pull me out into the big world. Sounds hellish, but it’s entirely necessary. See, while the safety of my house is something I need, it gets very lonely. Especially now, at this time of year, with all the Christmas markets and festive things. Even though the thought terrifies me, I really want to be outside experiencing that.

What is your favourite Christmas drink?

Nothing beats a cup of tea with two sugars.

Brussel sprouts, yay or nay?

Hells yay – with a little salt and some gravy.

Which cover for Under Rose-Tainted Skies do you prefer, the UK one or the US one?

I cried tears of joy when I saw both for the first time. I have to say I love them equally.

What’s your opinion on the right time to start listening to Christmas music?

Don’t hate me. I’ve being listening to Fairytale of New York since September. I’m one of *those* people.

Do you have a Christmas jumper? If so, what’s it like and do you wear it?

YES! I just posted a video of it on my IG because it’s cheesy and awesome and it has bells on it that really jingle. Did I mention I’m one of *those* people?!

Can you tell us anything about your next book?

It’s not been sold yet, hasn’t even been finished, but my next book might be considered quite controversial in some circles. The main character, Maggie, is recovering from scoliosis surgery. Complications and meds have morphed her body into something she hates. Enter: senior year of high school, a bully, a boy, and the sudden pressure to have sex.

That’s all for the interview! I hope you enjoyed reading the answers to the questions – I know I certainly did, and now I cannot wait to read Louise’s next book! An enormous thank you to Louise for taking the time to do this interview.

louise gornall.jpgLouise is a graduate of Garstang Community Academy, and she is currently studying for a BA (Hons) in English language and literature with special emphasis on creative writing.

A YA aficionado, film nerd, identical twin, and junk food enthusiast, she’s also an avid collector of book boyfriends.

One thought on “Brussel Sprouts, Christmas Jumpers and Her Next Book: An Interview with Louise Gornall

Leave a Reply

