Review: …And a Happy New Year? by Holly Bourne

xmas-3

Title: . . . And a Happy New Year?
Author:
Holly Bourne
Publisher:
Usborne Publishing Ltd
UK Release Date:
1st November 2016
Genres:
Young Adult, Contemporary,
Pages:
224
Format:
Hardback
Source:
Gift

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Evie, Amber and Lottie are having a New Year party to remember.

For the first time since leaving college, all three girls are back together. It’s time for fun and flirting, snogs and shots.

(And not tears or tantrums or terrible secrets)

Because everything’s going great for these girls – Spinster Club for ever! Right?

I absolutely loved the Spinster Club series, and I’ve been looking forward to reading this for a long time (I’ve been talking about it a lot, from November releases to Christmas recommendations), so you can imagine my delight when I received a copy of . . . And a Happy New Year? for Christmas. At first, I contemplated saving it for the fast approaching #SundayYAthon, as one of the challenges was to read a novella, but in the end I read the entire book on the day I received it as I was just too keen to get started.

The main highlight of the novella for me was that you got to see where the girls were at one year on from the last book in the trilogy, What’s a Girl Gotta Do?. It was great to see the good they were experiencing – Evie thriving at college, Amber and Kyle still going strong, Lottie loving London life – but also heartbreaking to see the bad. The book rotated between the perspectives of the three girls, which meant you got to see what was going on for them that they hadn’t shared with the others, as well as what they thought the situation was with each other. I could feel some sort of conflict coming as I read, what with everything they weren’t saying.

All the pent up feelings definitely meant that the book was an emotional one. I was gutted to see the problems emerging between them, and overjoyed yet still slightly saddened at the end. I knew that everything would turn out all right for the girls in the end, but that didn’t make it any less painful to read about the problems they were facing even when everything seemed to be alright. The sadness as the book closed wasn’t helped by the fact that I love the series, and have a soft spot for all of the characters, so I almost can’t believe the series is coming to a close.

Something I thought was really cool about the book was how at the back they included some of the best bits of the trilogy. Each girl had a selection of quotes from across the three books with their funniest or most well-known phrases and thoughts, and I loved flicking through and laughing – all the girls are just so entertaining, and I’m going to miss reading about their endeavours (I might have to go back and reread the series again!). I also spotted a few people I know in the back when they asked people on Twitter what their favourite moments were, which was so cool!

All in all, I am sad that this fantastic series had to come to an end, but it was done so well in this treasure of a novella. The characters and everything they stood for were such a positive force, and I know that this is a series that will be pushed into the hands of teenagers for a long time to come.

4-5

Leave a Reply

