Christmas SundayYAthon Recap

Over the summer, I participated in the SundayYAthon (I think it was the second one that Rachel’s organised), and I thoroughly enjoyed it, so I was delighted to see that there was going to be another one over the Christmas holidays.

Unlike last time, there were challenges to be done, so I chose some books which I thought would be perfect for the challenge.

On Day One, I got off to a good start by finishing The Deviants by C J Skuse. In fairness, I had started it the day before and gotten about 100 pages in, but I rounded it off during the challenge, which was what really counted, and I ticked off the challenge of reading a new(ish – I’d checked it out the library fairly recently!) book. Seeing as I had the time and knew it was best to get ahead, I then managed to squeeze in 100 pages of My True Love Gave to Me, a festive anthology which I mentioned in my Christmas recommendations post.

Day Two did not involve much reading as I was very busy all day, and so I only managed about another 150 pages of My True Love Gave to Me, leaving me with 100 pages left to go. At this point I was a tad worried that I wouldn’t get all my books read in time, but I wasn’t going to give up easily.

Day Three was more successful than the day before, as I managed to finish the anthology, ticking off that challenge, and starting What Light by Jay Asher, a book I have since reviewed, which was my Christmas selection. However, I only made it through 50 pages, leaving me with quite a challenge for the next day.

However, I am delighted to say that Day Four was an absolute success! I managed to finish What Light, and then move on to On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher, a book that’s been on my TBR for quite a while (since I bought it in July, to be precise). And then, at 11:30 pm I finished Winters’ Snow, a companion novella for On the Other Side, meaning I had completed all five challenges with five books over the course of the four days.

It was so much fun to participate in another SundayYAthon, and I would like to say a huge thank you to Rachel for organising it, as well as a big congratulations to all the other participants! What books have you been reading over the Christmas season?

4 thoughts on “Christmas SundayYAthon Recap

Leave a Reply

