January Releases

When I went to look at the list of books coming out in January that I have saved on my laptop, I was honestly a little bit hesitant to write this blog post. I didn’t want to choose too many and have it be an exhaustive list, but there were just so many good books to talk about! I did try to be selective; nevertheless, the January releases that I am highly in anticipation of are strong in number, with a total of seven (a record for me with this type of post!) that I’m going to be talking about today.

wing-jonesI don’t write these lists in order of preference – normally I just do it at random – but this book is one I’ve been looking forward to for months and months, so it had to go at the very top. Wing Jones by Katherine Webber is a book about a female runner, and judging by all the reviews and tweets, it is one that is bound to make you cry. I practically have no words for how excited I am to read this book. Publication date is the 5th of January.

a-quiet-kind-of-thunderAnother spectacular-looking book that I have heard so much about in the Twitter world is A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard, which is about a girl who is a selective mute and a deaf boy. I really enjoyed her debut, Beautiful Broken Things, which was one of my favourite books of 2016, and this one sounds amazing too, so I really am excited to read it. Publication date is the 12th of January.

the-one-memoryI am actually lucky enough to have read a proof copy of the next book on this list, The One Memory of Flora Banks. It is an epic story of Flora, who has a memory problem where she loses her memory several times a day, and her last real memory is of being ten years old – until her friend’s boyfriend, Drake, kisses her. She sets off on an incredible journey across the Arctic to find him. This is such an intense book, and there’s a mind-blowing plot twist; this book is definitely one I will be reviewing and recommending. Publication date is the 12th of January.

mafiosaI’ve been seeing photos of the copies of Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle that have been sent out to bloggers, and slowly but steadily my excitement for this book has been rising. I read Vendetta and Inferno, the first two books in the Blood for Blood trilogy, and I am incredibly excited to read the third and final book in the series. Inferno had an amazing cliffhanger, so I really need to read this – I’m hoping it will pick up exactly where it left off. Publication date is the 5th of January.

margot-and-meMargot and Me is Juno Dawson’s latest novel, and it’s one I’ve been anticipating. I think Juno Dawson’s books are fab, and she’s won a Queen of Teen award as well, so I was already interested when I heard she was writing another book. The subject of the book piqued my interest further, as the two stories, of Fliss in the modern day and her grandmother in the 1940s, sound so good. This is one I am seriously looking forward to reading! Publication date is the 26th of January.

the-memory-bookI first heard about The Memory Book by Lara Avery in July, when Books With Bite tweeted about it over the course of the three days. Since then, it’s been on my radar as a book to look out for in 2017. I think the theme of memory is such a fascinating one, and I love the concept behind this book – I’m especially excited as the book is said to be perfect for people who enjoyed All the Bright Places and The Fault in Our Stars. Publication date is the 26th of January.

carve-the-markAnd finally in this stellar line up of books is Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth. The Divergent trilogy was a hit success, and I really enjoyed it at the time, so I think this will be one I’ll have to read. It’s also a sci-fi fantasy novel, a genre I’m looking to explore more of as part of my goal to read more widely, and this looks like an excellent place to start! Publication date is the 17th of January.

These are my most anticipated releases for January – what’s on your list? Are there any books you think I’ve missed?

Edit: as of 23/01/17, I do not think I will be supporting Carve the Mark, as it has emerged that elements of the book can be seen as having a racist slant. While I do not know if I would have picked up on this, I would not like to support a book that could and has hurt people, and so I wanted to make others aware of this.

5 thoughts on “January Releases

  1. Eve @ Twist in the Taile says:

    Ooh Carve the Mark is a sci-fi fantasy?!? I DID NOT KNOW THIS. I don’t really know what that genre entails, but I’m excited to see! Aaah there are so many books here I’ve been hearing good things about — I think I’m most excited for Margot & Me and Wing Jones. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookendsandendings says:

      I was surprised at first too – different from dystopia, but obviously still far from contemps! I know, there are just so many amazing books coming out and I don’t know when I’ll find time to read them all. Wing Jones and Margot and Me both look just so fab 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

