2016 Releases I Meant to Read But Didn’t

2016-i-wish

As a book blogger, I often get very enthusiastic about upcoming and recently released books. However, with often multiple releases each week, along with all the books from every year before that stacked up on the old TBR, it is very easy to fall behind with all the books you want to read. I thought I’d share some releases from 2016 which, despite my best intentions, didn’t end up getting read.

I got the idea for this post from the weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday, run over at The Broke and the Bookish. I only found out about it from everyone else’s very interesting-to-read blog posts after the day was over, but I still wanted to write it, so I decided to do so now.

  1. Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence

I saw Patrice Lawrence speaking on a panel at YALW, and I thought her debut, Orangeboy, sounded so interesting, so I was very keen to read it. I was very lucky in that Books With Bite recently sent me a copy of this book, so I will definitely be reading it very soon, and you can expect a review shortly!

  1. 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

This book has been marked as ‘crime’ and ‘mystery’ on Goodreads, and both of those things make me think it sounds excellent. I read the first few chapters, but my wandering attention led me to other books. However, the suspense that I think will develop means I really want to come back to it.

  1. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

My attention was caught by this book quite a while before I actually read it, around the time of YALC. Although I couldn’t go, I saw lots of photos, and this book featured prominently on the Hot Key Books stand, so I couldn’t help but feel drawn to it. Fortunately for me, I won a copy during Hot Key Book’s #Key2Xmas, a series of giveaways they ran over the Christmas season, and so I really have no excuse not to read it now.

  1. Mother Tongue by Julie Mayhew

I have read one other book by Julie Mayhew, The Big Lie, which I absolutely adored – it was one of my favourite books that I read in the first half of 2016. I was really looking forward to the release of Mother Tongue, but somehow it slipped off my radar. Also, to be completely honest, I wasn’t *completely* gripped by the first fifty pages when I gave it a try, but I’m sure I’ll be able to pick up where I left off and really get into it soon.

  1. Girl Hearts Girl by Lucy Sutcliffe

I won the chance to participate in a You Review post with Maximum Pop! Books, and Girl Hearts Girl was the book for this. I read the first couple of chapters so that I could contribute for the post, but after that I got distracted, and forgot about this book till now. I really did enjoy the beginning, so I definitely want to read the rest soon.

  1. The Moonlight Dreamers by Siobhan Curham

The Moonlight Dreamers was a novel that I was so excited to read. I really admire Siobhan Curham as an author, and I still vividly remember the workshop she ran at YALC 2015, so this book has been high up on my TBR for a while. The friendships within the book seem really promising too, so I need to pick this one up at some point.

  1. Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

Another release I was very excited for that just slipped out of sight. I bought a copy in October (and blogged about it) so I could get it signed by Krystal at YA Shot at the end of the month. Unfortunately, since then it has been sat looking lovely on my shelf, but unfortunately unread. I feel especially bad about not having read this one, as when I did the New York Times By the Book tag, it was the book I said I was going to start next.

  1. The Graces by Laure Eve

I heard so many good things about this book, and Laure Eve was an author whose writing I really wanted to try. I think that a sequel is going to be released at some point too, making it all the more crucial that I find time to read it.

  1. Haunt Me by Liz Kessler

I have read one other book by Liz Kessler, Read Me Like a Book, which I found so interesting, and extremely thought-provoking, and the premise of Haunt Me looked highly promising to me. The cover is also just so gorgeous, so I seriously want to read this too.

  1. The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Last but not least, The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood. I’ve seen Harriet speak at multiple events, and heard so much about her book, so it does feel almost silly that I haven’t read it yet. I think this is one that definitely needs to be high up on the list so I can catch up on what I’ve been missing.

These were my 2016 releases that I didn’t end up getting around to reading. I can assure you there were a lot more, but these were the ones I was most disappointed about not having read them. They’ll count towards the Beat the Backlist challenge though, so there are many, many reasons that I need to read these.

Which 2016 releases did you not get around to reading? Do we have any in common?

4 thoughts on “2016 Releases I Meant to Read But Didn’t

Leave a Reply

