February Releases

feb rel.jpg

At the end of December and beginning of January, I saw so many people writing blog posts about the book they were excited to read that were coming out in 2017, and while I enjoyed reading those posts, a part of me just couldn’t understand how people could write them – how could they choose just a handful of books when there are so many amazing-looking ones coming out each month? It just reinforced to me how much I enjoy doing these posts, looking at the releases I’m anticipating on a month-by-month basis (and I hope you enjoy it too!).

January was full of fab-looking books, and I’m back again this month with just as many as last time, because once again I struggled to choose. Maybe eventually I’ll have some success with only picking a few.

unconventionalTop of my list is Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt. I’ve been hearing about this book since the promotional contest run over the YALC weekend, and I have been incredibly excited to read it! It’s about conventions and romance – perfect for all the fangirls, and I haven’t read a really good romance novel for a while, so I’m hoping this will fill that spot for me. Also, I think the title of this book is so clever as well. Publication date is the 1st of February by Usborne.

heartlessRecently I’ve been really loving all of the books that My Kinda Book/Macmillan has been publishing, and another one to add to the ever-expanding list is Heartless by Marissa Meyer. My lovely sister, Bex from My Shelf and Myself, has a proof of this which I plan on borrowing from her shortly as she gushed about it so much. This would also work perfectly for the Retellings Reading Challenge, which I haven’t read anything for yet, so I think this is definitely a must-read for me. Publication date is the 9th of February by Macmillan Children’s Books.

we-come-apartThe next book is a collaboration between two authors who have both written books that I’ve really enjoyed, and that is We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan. It looks like such a gorgeous book, and like such a powerful and emotional read, and I am very much in anticipation of reading it. Publication date is the 9th of February by Bloomsbury Children’s.

all-about-miaAll About Mia is the second book by Lisa Williamson, the author of the incredible The Art of Being Normal, which I think has to be one of the books I’ve heard raved about most often in recent weeks. All About Mia is about – you guessed it – Mia, who is the middle child stuck between two sisters, one exceptionally academic and the other incredibly sporty. I think this book sounds really interesting, and like a fascinating look into sibling relationships. Publication date is the 2th of February by David Fickling Books.

inkInk is the debut of Alice Broadway, set in a fantasy world where significant life events appear as tattoos on your skin. Upon death, the tattoos become a book for your family, but everything comes into question for Leora when she discovers that her father’s book is not as it should be. I have a special proof of this with a design-your-own cover, and after everything I heard about this at the Scholastic Bloggers’ Book Feast, I am very excited to get started on this. Publication date is the 2nd of February by Scholastic.

close-your-eyesI’m also interested to read Close Your Eyes by Nicci Cloke, a book about a group of friends and a school shooting. I’ve read a few books which centre on school shootings, exploring the thoughts behind them and the impact they can have. Nicci Cloke’s first book, Follow Me Back, was a book that I enjoyed and was kept in suspense by, so I’m hoping that this book will be sensitively written and insightful, with a similar high standard. Publication date is the 23th of February by Hot Key Books.

traitor-to-the-throneFinally, I’d like to give a shout out to Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton. It’s not a book I’m excited to read because I’ve already read it! I enjoyed Rebel of the Sands, the first book in the series, but I think this sequel was even better, and I will be giving it a glowing review on my blog soon. If you’ve been wondering what happened to Amani and the rebellion, then you need to read it, and if you haven’t read either of the books in the series yet then I would recommend checking them out. Publication date is the 2nd of February by Faber & Faber.

Have you read any of books already? Are there any of these which you’re particularly excited to read?

One thought on “February Releases

Leave a Reply

