January Wrap Up & February TBR

jwu ftbr.jpg

Since I’ve started with various challenges, and because I’ve seen a couple of these on other blogs and they look like fun, I’m going to start doing monthly wrap ups and TBRs on my blog. I’ve modelled it on equivalents that I’ve seen on other blogs (mainly A Frolic Through Fiction and She Latitude, two amazing blogs I would definitely recommend following), so let me know if you think I’ve covered everything you’d like to know when I’m summing up a month!

This month, I have read twelve books, which are as follows:

  1. Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
  2. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  3. Fish Boy by Chloe Daykin
  4. Gather Together in My Name by Maya Angelou
  5. The Fallen Children by David Owen
  6. The Trouble With Women by Jacky Fleming –> read my review!
  7. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
  8. Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey
  9. This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
  10. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig –> read my review!
  11. Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton
  12. Sea by Sarah Driver

As you can see, I’ve really been trying to stick to my bookish resolutions by reading widely, hence the mixture of classics, autobiography, adult fiction, YA, MG, and a graphic novel chucked in there too! Twelve books isn’t a particularly brilliant reading month for me, as sometimes I manage over twenty, but it’s definitely not bad, and if I manage twelve a month for the rest of 2017, then I’ll be well over my goal of 100 books for the year. My favourite book from this list would probably have to be either The Bell Jar or The Hate U Give.

With regards to challenges, I read and reviewed one book for the British Books Challenge 2017, and seven books for the Beat the Backlist challenge. I didn’t do anything for the Retellings Reading Challenge, but there’s always next month!

I’ve also been really happy with the blog content I’ve produced this month. In particular, my recap of the Scholastic Bloggers’ Book Feast was a hit – and the experience itself was incredible! I also loved writing content about the arrival of the new year, like 2016 highlights, bookish resolutions, and books I meant to read last year but didn’t (oops). I had the pleasure of going to the launch for Wing Jones by Katherine Webber as well, and I had an amazing time that I hope I never forget.

I’ve read some exceptionally interesting and entertaining posts this month as well which I thought I’d share in case anyone is looking for new blogs to follow or posts to spark an interest in them. These were:

And finally, my February TBR! I have quite a lot of books I’m hoping to get through this month, because of school/all the good releases/my role as a youth reviewer for a local independent bookshop. It’ll be a challenge, but I’m going to view that as a good thing.

  1. The White Hare by Michael Fishwick
  2. Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
  3. Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel
  4. One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus
  5. Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon
  6. Cut to the Bone by Alex Caan
  7. Octavio’s Journey by Miguel Bonnefoy
  8. The Colour Purple by Alice Walker
  9. The Road to Ever After by Moira Young
  10. Welcome to Nowhere by Elizabeth Laird
  11. Economics: A Very Short Introduction by Partha Dasgupta
  12. The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson
  13. Wing Jones by Katherine Webber
  14. A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
  15. How To Be Both by Ali Smith
  16. Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence
  17. Mother Tongue by Julie Mayhew
  18. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  19. An Ideal Husband by Oscar Wilde
  20. Free Lunch: Easily Digestible Economics by David Smith

I have no doubt that I’ll end up deviating from this list, but I think I’m going to aim high and hope for the best.

What books did you read last month? What’s on your TBR for this month?

7 thoughts on “January Wrap Up & February TBR

  1. In Need of a Read says:

    Very varied reading list, I definitely want to tackle some classics this month and will probably start with The Bell Jar. What did you think to it?

    The Bone Season is also on my TBR, heard mixed reviews on that one. Welcome to Nowhere is fantastic!! Great choices.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. harrietspringbett says:

    This is an ambitious list! I loved 3 of the books on it: my fave has to be Ali Smith’s ‘How to Be Both’ (but she’s my literary inspiration so I was bound to adore this) because it makes you think – and I admire her quirky characters. Orangeboy was great because it allows you to see what happens if you make the wrong choices. And I loved the protagonist in Wing Jones. Looking forward to reading AQKOT this month too. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

