Review: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

traitor-to-the-throneTitle: Traitor to the Throne
Author: Alwyn Hamilton
Publisher:
Faber & Faber
UK Release Date:
2nd February 2017
Genres:
Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages:
512
Format:
Proof
Source:
Local independent bookshop

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

This is not about blood or love. This is about treason.

Nearly a year has passed since Amani and the rebels won their epic battle at Fahali. Amani has come into both her powers and her reputation as the Blue-Eyed Bandit, and the Rebel Prince’s message has spread across the desert – and some might say out of control. But when a surprise encounter turns into a brutal kidnapping, Amani finds herself betrayed in the cruellest manner possible.

Stripped of her powers and her identity, and torn from the man she loves, Amani must return to her desert-girl’s instinct for survival. For the Sultan’s palace is a dangerous one, and the harem is a viper’s nest of suspicion, fear and intrigue. Just the right place for a spy to thrive… But spying is a dangerous game, and when ghosts from Amani’s past emerge to haunt her, she begins to wonder if she can trust her own treacherous heart.

I was incredibly fortunate in that I received a proof of Traitor to the Throne from my local independent bookshop, as I’m a youth reviewer for them, and I couldn’t believe my luck when I saw they had a copy for me (I mentioned this book in my post on exciting February releases!). Also, I reviewed Rebel of the Sands over Blogmas on my blog, and really enjoyed it – yet this series just got even better with the addition of Traitor to the Throne.

One of my favourite things about Rebel of the Sands was Amani. She has an incredibly strong character voice, she’s dynamic and vivid, she has a feisty personality and a quick tongue which often gets her into trouble, and she’s the sort of character you can’t help but root for. I was completely engaged by her adventures and trials, and always felt curious as to what Amani would think of next when she was in tricky situations.

The world-building within Traitor to the Throne was another aspect that I adored. The desert land that Alwyn Hamilton had created was truly captivating, and I could picture it so vividly within my mind. The description and the way in which the ideas were portrayed managed to be enough to give you a real sense of the setting without being excessive or an info-dump. This balance can be difficult to get rid, but it was done masterfully, and so I would commend this book for that.

The last thing I want to mention that really stood out to me as an exceptional element of this book was the intensity of the plot. It was well put together and done in a way that kept me hooked, surprised me from time to time, and put me through a spectrum of emotions, from happy when Jin and Amani were together, to heartbroken at a *certain* character death. The story was pacy and was intriguing throughout.

Overall, if you loved Rebel of the Sands, if you’re looking for a new fantasy series to love, or if you’re just looking for an exceptionally good book to read, then I would definitely suggest picking up a copy of Traitor to the Throne sometime soon!

5-0

4 thoughts on “Review: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Leave a Reply

