American YA Books I Want to Read

us-ya

I spent an awful lot of time on this blog discussing UKYA (nearly every blog post I’ve ever written, to be precise), and so I wanted to shake things up a bit and do something a little different with this blog post: discuss some American YA books that I want to read.

I’ve chosen some books to discuss today which are published only in the US as far as I’m aware. However, from my exploration on Goodreads, I have ascertained that these books look very good, so I might have to venture into the world of Amazon and The Book Depository in order to get my hands on a copy despite the fact that they’re not published in the UK.

love lucas.jpgFirst on the list is Love, Lucas by Chantele Sedgwick. It’s about a girl named Oakley, who is battling depression, and has recently lost her brother, Lucas, to cancer. With a trip to California to stay with her aunt, a book of letters from Lucas, and a surfer called Carson who she starts to have feelings for, things are definitely changing for Oakley, but moving forward isn’t going to be easy. I am fortunate in that I won a copy of this book via a contest held by Maximum Pop Books, and so I’m very excited to get reading this book – but it looks like an excellent book, so it would be great if it was published in the UK too, as if I hadn’t won a copy, it would have been tricky to get hold of.

Love, Lucas – Goodreads| The Book Depository | Amazon

girl-out-of-waterNext up is a book I have wanted to read for a long while: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman. I heard of the book over the summer, but became very aware of it ever since the attack on Laura’s Goodreads page by Neo-Nazis, who gave the book low rankings and poor reviews when the book had only been available to a handful of people. Even before this, I was interested as it looks set to be great in terms of plot, characters and diversity, but now I want to support it and Laura even more!

Girl Out of Water Goodreads| The Book Depository | Amazon

lifeboat-cliqueThe Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks is one with an idea that grabbed me as soon as I heard of it – the title is very thought-provoking, and it really got my attention! It’s about a girl who is at a party when a tsunami occurs, and she is swept out to sea. She ends up on a lifeboat with all of the popular students from school, and it’s said to be darkly comic, so I would love to read this book. Also, I think the cover is just perfect, and fits with the description of the book so well.

The Lifeboat Clique Goodreads| Amazon

georgia-peachesGeorgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown, aside from having a simply gorgeous cover, also has such an interesting-sounding plot. Joanna is out, but agrees to hide her sexuality for her last year of school when her family move state. However, matters are complicated by the sister of her new friend, Mary Carlson. This book sounds so good, and I have seen a lot of praise for it on other blogs run by bloggers from other countries, so it is one I would love to read.

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit Goodreads | The Book Depository | Amazon

a-study-in-charlotteAnd finally, A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro is a fresh take on Sherlock Holmes, with Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson as the protagonists in what looks to be a mysterious and high-stakes novel as they try to clear their names when they are being framed for murder. It looks so intense and so good, and is the first in a trilogy, so you would get to enjoy the characters for more than one story.

A Study in Charlotte Goodreads | Amazon

So these were the American YA books that I really want to read, but unfortunately haven’t been published in the UK. In my opinion, they all look fab, and I think I’ll need to find a way to read them (although maybe once I’ve got through my mountainous TBR first!) if they’re not published by a UK publisher – perhaps by using The Book Depository for the first time! I generally prefer to buy books in store than online, but these might need to be the exception to the rule.

Have you read any of these books? Are there any books which you really want to read but haven’t been published in the country where you live?

6 thoughts on “American YA Books I Want to Read

  1. Sarah says:

    I really want to ready A Study in Charlotte, the second in the series has just been released too. I saw a promo for a reduced price eBook copy of the first one, was gutted that it was US & Canada only and the UK version was still full price. At some point I think I’ll have to take the plunge though, I love Sherlock Holmes and this take sounds really interesting

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

