February Wrap Up & March TBR

fwp mtbr.jpg

I can’t believe it’s March already – but here I am, doing a March TBR and February wrap up. How time flies!

Last month I was actually really good at sticking to my TBR – I wrote down 20 books I was hoping to wrote, and managed to read a whopping 16 of them, plus 3 others (I thank my week without WiFi for this . . .). Anyway, this is what I managed to read this month:

  1. A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard -> read my review here!
  2. The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
  3. The White Hare by Michael Fishwick
  4. An Ideal Husband by Oscar Wilde
  5. Bone Gap by Laura Ruby -> read my review here!
  6. The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson
  7. The Road to Ever After by Moira Young
  8. Welcome to Nowhere by Elizabeth Laird
  9. Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel
  10. Octavio’s Journey by Miguel Bonnefoy
  11. One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus
  12. Nutshell by Ian McEwan -> read my review here!
  13. Optimists Die First by Susin Nielson
  14. The Colour Purple by Alice Walker
  15. How to Be Both by Ali Smith
  16. Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence
  17. Wing Jones by Katherine Webber
  18. Cut to the Bone by Alex Caan
  19. Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon

I didn’t get around to reading Economics: A Very Short Introduction, Free Lunch: Easily Digestible Economics, The Bone Season and Mother Tongue. All of these will be shifted forwards, though! As you can see, the selection I read had been good with continuing my resolution to read more widely – I’ve got middle grade, YA, crime, a play, and some literary fiction (no poetry or autobiography though!). I’m doing so well with regards to hitting my 100 book goal – I’m nearly a third of the way there. My favourites were Wing Jones and An Ideal Husband, although I also loved One of Us is Lying and Welcome to Nowhere, and The Colour Purple made me think so much.

With challenges, I read and reviewed 2 books for the British Books Challenge (and reviewed one which I read last month), 9 books for the Beat the Backlist challenge, and 1 for the Retellings Reading Challenge.

On my blog this month, I’ve posted about the talk I went to at Waterstones in Kensington about ‘What makes a girl strong?’, which was such a great event. I also held myself a WiFi break, which was highly conducive to reading! I also did two sets of Valentine’s Day posts, one on romances which have another layer to them, and one on post-Valentine’s Day recommendations.

Some posts I read this month which I wanted to mention were:

This month, I’m hoping to read:

  1. Damage by Eve Ainsworth (I actually finished this last night, but wanted to reference it here for future remembering purposes!)
  2. Truth or Dare by Non Pratt
  3. See How They Lie by Sue Wallman
  4. The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury
  5. Economics: A Very Short Introduction by Partha Dasgupta
  6. Free Lunch: Easily Digestible Economics by David Smith
  7. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  8. Mother Tongue by Julie Mayhew
  9. Margot and Me by Juno Dawson
  10. The Trouble With Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon
  11. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  12. The Trouble With Ethics by Peter Vardy
  13. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  14. Gillian Vermillion: Dream Detective by Chris Chalmers
  15. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  16. Waiting for Callback: Take Two by Perdita and Honor Cargill

Once again, it’s ambitious, but why not? I can try!

What books did you read this month? What’s on your TBR?

 

2 thoughts on “February Wrap Up & March TBR

Leave a Reply

