April Releases I’m Anticipating

aria 2

I do feel a bit like I say this at the beginning of every single one of these posts that I write, but April?!?! How the time flies!

Anyway, there are so many amazing releases for this month, and so I decided to talk about six books today – three which I have been wanting to read for so long, and three which I’ve already had the fortune to have read, and want to recommend.

aria 1

The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas is a book for which there are no words to describe how excited I am. It’s about Grace, a teenager with Asperger’s syndrome, and her journey to try and fit in with a world she doesn’t necessarily understand. I think that neurological conditions are something which aren’t discussed enough, and I hope to learn a lot from this book, as well as enjoying Grace’s story. Also, isn’t the title clever?! Publication is the 6th of April 2017 by Macmillan Children’s Books.

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han is the final book in the trilogy of books about Lara Jean, which I found out more about at the Scholastic Bloggers’ Book Feast, that began with To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. I read the first two books in the trilogy one after the other last summer, and I cannot wait to read the last instalment – Lara Jean is one of the most adorable characters, and it’s exciting to be coming back to her story. Publication is the 6th of April by Scholastic.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli is the second book by the author of Simon vs the Homosapiens Agenda. I enjoyed that book so much, and this book features characters from Simon vs, so I think it’ll be very fun to return to them. I’m a huge fan of Becky Albertalli’s writing style, and I’ve seen this book talked about a lot, so I’m very keen to read it. Publication is the 11th of April 2017 by Penguin.

aria 3

I wanted to talk about three books that come out this month which I’ve already read – I’m not fully decided on my ratings for all of them yet, but they’d all get a minimum of four stars, if not five, so I knew I had to talk about them all now (reviews to follow for all three!).

Doing It! by Hannah Witton is a comprehensive sex education guide for people of all ages. It covers a great breadth of topics, and (to me) seemed very inclusive in the language used. I think this book is immensely important. Publication is the 6th of April 2017 by Wren & Rook.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas is another book which would I could easily describe as immensely important. I think pretty much everyone has heard of this book by this time, but just in case you haven’t, it was written about the Black Lives Matter movement, and follows the story of Starr, who witnesses an act of police brutality. Publication is the 6th of April 2017 by Walker Books.

Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman tells the story of Ingrid, who has been made to go on an extreme camp for “at risk youth”, and she doesn’t see why she belongs there. As the story progresses, more of her past is slowly revealed. It is an incredibly poignant and emotional book, but also really funny, and I seriously enjoyed it. Publication is the 6th of April 2017 by Scholastic.

These are my anticipated releases for this month – what are yours? Have you read any of these books yet?

9 thoughts on “April Releases I’m Anticipating

  1. The Hermit Librarian says:

    The State of Grace sounds really interesting. Thanks for the recommendation!

    I didn’t realize the final Lara Jean book was coming out so soon. I didn’t realize I’d like this series so much since I didn’t have a great start to it, but now that the end is here? So many tears, not enough cookies. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

