March Wrap Up & April TBR

mwu atbr

And wow, we are onto April! The year’s going so fast, and I’m slightly in disbelief that we’re already a quarter of the way through 2017.

Last month, I managed to read 16 books, 9 of which were from my TBR for last month, which I was pleased with. These books were:

  1. Damage by Eve Ainsworth -> read my review!
  2. Take Two by Perdita and Honor Cargill -> read my review!
  3. The Trouble With Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon
  4. Doing It!: Let’s Talk About Sex… by Hannah Witton -> read my review!
  5. See How They Lie by Sue Wallman
  6. Economics: A Very Short Introduction by Partha Dasgupta
  7. Nerve by Jeanne Ryan
  8. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  9. Truth or Dare by Non Pratt
  10. The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury
  11. Is Your Neighbour a Zombie? by Jeremy Stangroom
  12. Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman
  13. The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood
  14. Hold Back the Stars by Katie Khan
  15. Gillian Vermillion: Dream Detective by Chris Chalmers
  16. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

This month’s reading was probably skewed a little bit towards YA, so there’s not as much non-fiction on there as I’d like – but there’s always next month, I guess! There were also quite a lot of boos that I wanted to read so I could review them, which should partially explain my slant towards YA. Of the list, my favourites were probably The Unexpected Everything, Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined, Truth or Dare, and Take Two, although We Should All Be Feminists is one I would 100% recommend to absolutely everyone, and it’s a very quick read, only 50 pages or so.

With regards to the various challenges I’m doing, I read 12 books for the British Books Challenge, 2 of which I reviewed last month. I also read 8 books for the Beat the Backlist Challenge, but I didn’t read any for the Retellings Reading Challenge.

I’ve had loads of fun content on my blog this month; I participated in the blog tour for The Scarecrow Queen, and had a guest post from Sue Wallman around the release of See How They Lie. I wrote a post about opinions on whether or not friends and family read your blog and why, which had loads of great responses, and I was asked by Eventbrite to write a post on my dream author panel, which was exciting! I also did some cool stuff which I didn’t blog about, like go to the launch of The Scarecrow Queen, which was super fun and meant I got to meet and re-meet a lot of awesome bookish people.

Some really interesting posts that I read this month were:

This month, I’m hoping to read:

  1. Free Lunch: Easily Digestible Economics by David Smith
  2. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  3. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  4. Margot & Me by Juno Dawson
  5. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  6. The Puzzle of Ethics by Peter Vardy
  7. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  8. Quiet by Susan Cain
  9. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  10. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
  11. Girl Hearts Girl by Lucy Sutcliffe
  12. Chase by Linwood Barclay
  13. Troublemakers by Catherine Barter
  14. The Puzzle of God by Peter Vardy
  15. Three Guineas by Virginia Woolf

As ever, I’ve transferred over the ones I didn’t manage to read last month. Let’s do this!

What books did you read this month? What’s on your TBR for next month?

5 thoughts on “March Wrap Up & April TBR

Leave a Reply

