I Dare You Book Tag

idy bt

I was very happy to be tagged by my sister, Bex from My Shelf and Myself, in the I Dare You book tag about three months ago (I’m terrible at doing tags quickly!), and so now I have a lot of questions and answers to be sharing. The rules are:

  • You must be honest
  • You can’t not answer a question
  • You have to tag at least four people

And here are all of my answers . . .

  1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest?

I think this one would have to be Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder, which I’ve had and have been meaning to read for something like 9 years . . . oops?

  1. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?

At the time of writing this, I’m reading a lot of books, but the one I’m reading with the most focus is The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. The book I last read was No Virgin by Anne Cassidy, and I’m not sure what to go for next, but it’ll be probably finishing off 100 Prized Poems: Twenty Five Years of the Forward Books.

  1. What book(s) did everyone like and you hated?

I wasn’t a huge fan of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, but everyone else seems to love that. I would be willing to give it another go, though, as I think potentially I could enjoy it more a second time around. I also really didn’t like Nightwanderers by C. J. Flood, or Flawed by Cecilia Ahern – I didn’t understand the hype at all!

  1. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

Hmm, tough one! I don’t think there are any books which I won’t read at all, but there are lots of books which I think will take me a long time to get round to for various reasons. An example would be Don Quixote; I’m interested to read it – it’s just so long!

  1. Which book are you saving for “retirement”?

Again, there’s nothing in particularly that I’m ‘saving’, but inevitably there will end up being books that I just don’t have the time to read now, and so will have to read when I have a lot more free time.

  1. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?

Always, always, wait till the end. I wouldn’t want to take the risk of ruining the book (although I do look to the end to see how many pages there are).

  1. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?

Interesting aside, for sure. I didn’t used to read them, but I nearly always have a look at them now. I must admit, it has become a lot more fun to read them since I started blogging, as from time to time I recognise names there.

  1. Which book character would you switch places with?

I think ‘switch places with’ is a big too strong for me, as I wouldn’t want to trade away my life for someone else’s. However, if I could test out another character’s life for a day, Wing, the titular character of Katherine Webber’s Wing Jones, springs to mind immediately for me. She has such incredible experiences through her running, and I think it would be fun to spend a day in her shoes (although I wouldn’t like to live through the other issues in her life, such as worries around Marcus and financial problems).

  1. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?

Nothing that springs to mind? I can’t think of anything for this one.

  1. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way.

Hmm . . . both Seed by Lisa Heathfield and The It Girl by Katy Birchall were books that I was given at a blogging workshop at YALC 2015, which was pretty cool.

  1. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

Not that I can really think of. If I get spare books, I give them to my friends or sister, or pass them on to a charity shop. Generally if there’s a book that I think is special and want to share with someone, I’ll buy them a copy for their next birthday or something.

  1. Which book has been with you to the most places?

This one for me is The Kissing Booth by Beth Reekles. It’s been all over England, as well as to three countries overseas. The book means a lot to me, as it proves that teenagers can write too.

  1. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I haven’t ever hated the books we’ve had to read, but there have been some that I liked less than others. I find that there are some books too that I enjoy analysing, but don’t

  1. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?

I’ve never found anything particularly strange. I’ve seen the odd receipt or ticket for something here and there in a library, and everyone finds crumbs in a book at least once in their life, but I can’t think of anything particularly extraordinary.

  1. Used or brand new?

Obviously everyone loves new books, but to be honest I don’t mind used books too much – even though they’re often battered, which I hate, I can put up with it because it means they’re usually cheaper (and let’s be real, the more books you can get, the better).

  1. Have you ever read a Dan Brown?

Nope.

  1. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?

Yes, actually. I’ve been planning to do a couple of book-versus-movie posts, as the one I wrote on A Monster Calls was pretty well received, and these two were going to feature: The Duff and Nerve.

  1. A book that NEVER should have been published.

That’s a very strongly worded question! I have to say that nothing immediately springs to mind. There have definitely been books that I ultimately wouldn’t read again, or regret buying when I know that almost any other book would have been better. However, everyone’s taste is different, so I wouldn’t say they shouldn’t have been published at all.

  1. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?

Not that I can think of, no.

  1. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

My sister (who tagged me in this!) said me when she answered this question, and I think I have to reciprocate. We both read a lot and have pretty similar tastes, and I trust and value her opinion a lot. I’d pretty much always take her advice on anything, not just books.

That’s all for the questions – there were a lot of them! Thank you Bex for tagging me; I tag:

And you if you haven’t done it and would like to!

Leave a Reply

