An Evening With Patrice Lawrence and Angie Thomas Recap & Giveaway

Yesterday afternoon, my sister and I went into central London with a very exciting destination: Waterstones Piccadilly, where we had tickets to see Patrice Lawrence and Angie Thomas talk. I don’t think I have to say much more than that to get you interested already.

ooh.jpg

Last time we attended an event at Waterstones, we got slightly lost on the tube, went to the wrong place, and ended up ten minutes late. This time, we were better prepared, and arranged to meet with the lovely Liv (from Liv’s Wonderful Escape) an hour before the evening was due to start to have a look around the shop and get good seats. We didn’t get much of a chance to look around though; we had to sit down almost straight away as the front row was already filling up! Luckily we got front row seats nonetheless, and had some valuable reading/Twitter time before the event got started.

I was so excited to see Angie and Patrice up in front of us. It was especially surreal to see Angie, as before that point I’d only ever seen her in videos promoting The Hate U Give and on the news, so it really was something. Then the talk got started, with questions being posed by ____ at first, and then by the audience. Here are some of the tweets that I managed to jot down as they were talking – although I think it would have been impossible to get down all the amazing things they were saying. If you were interested in reading some other tweets from the event, I’d recommend the Twitter pages of Charlie and Nina.

I also got the chance to have my books signed at the end – it was pretty crowded, so there wasn’t much time to chat to either author sadly, but it was cool to meet them.

I also have something really exciting to announce, which is that I’m holding a giveaway! I have one signed copy of Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence, which was shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards and won the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2017. You can find out more about it on Goodreads here.

 

Terms and Conditions

  • The winner must be following me on Twitter, and must have retweeted the above tweet.
  • The winner must be prepared to give me their mailing address.
  • The winner must provide a UK mailing address.
  • The prize on offer is one signed copy of Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence. There are no alternatives.
  • The competition is open from 9:00 am on Friday 14th of April 2017 to 9:00 pm on Sunday 23rd March 2017. Entries outside these times will not be taken into account.
  • The winner will be chosen at random from those who have retweeted the tweet.
  • The book is second hand (as I have read it!), but is in excellent condition, and looks unread.
Leave a Reply

