Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

the unexpectedTitle: The Unexpected Everything
Author: Morgan Matson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s
UK Release Date: 5th May 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance
Pages: 528
Format: Ebook
Source: Bought

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

From Morgan Matson, the bestselling author of Since You’ve Been Gone comes a feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans.

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.

Future? A top-tier medical school.

Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).

Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?

Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

When I started on The Unexpected Everything, I was completely unsure of what to expect. I’d seen it around for months, spotting it in bookshops pretty much every time I visited one. I’d also heard a lot about Morgan Matson’s books in general, despite never having properly read one (I did start reading Since You’ve Been Gone, but I was on a car journey at the time and had started to feel travel sick, so I put it down and forgot to pick it up again). However, I’m very happy to say that I loved The Unexpected Everything, and struggled to put it down. I kept planning to read a chapter or so before I went to bed, but then one hour later would find myself still awake and reading. I was well and truly hooked on this book, and would definitely recommend it.

I loved the characters and character development in The Unexpected Everything. Morgan Matson created a big cast of characters, as Andie had a wide circle of friends, her employers, her family, and her father’s employees, but despite the vast quantity of people to manage, the reader still got a really good sense of who each character was. In just a few pages, I had a vivid idea of what the characters were like, and I felt link I knew them almost immediately. By the end as well, the characters had all developed beautifully – in particular, Andie and her father.

The ending was absolutely gorgeous, if tinged a bit with sadness. There were some areas which I guess were fitting, but that didn’t make them happy. However, on the whole, I thought it was largely happy – and there was a very cute romantic bit that I just wanted to gush about when I read it (I couldn’t though, as I was out without anyone to gush to). I love endings which aren’t too perfect and aren’t necessarily entirely wrapped up, but still have a sense of finality to them – you can finish the book with a sense of curiosity but also satisfaction at the same time. The Unexpected Everything definitely had this for me.

I would say there were one or two aspects of this book that I found ever so slightly unrealistic or predictable – for example, I wasn’t sure if the idea of her losing her place the day before would actually happen (but then again, I’m not American, so maybe that’s just part of a system I don’t understand). I also completely guessed a couple of things about Clark/that Clark does – you’ll know what I mean if you’ve read it – but this didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the book at all, and it was somehow both predictable and original at the same time, if that makes sense. In any case, I liked it nonetheless, and I don’t know if it would have been as cute or fun without those elements.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The characters were great, the romance was adorable, and the ending fitted so well with the book overall. It put me in a very summery mood as well – I would definitely recommend this as a perfect summer read, but obviously if you’re keen to read it I wouldn’t blame you for starting as soon as you can.

4-5

2 thoughts on “Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

