May Releases I’m Anticipating

mria 1

Sometimes when I look at all of books coming out in a month, I feel a bit daunted when I consider which ones I want to talk about in my monthly post. This month, however, my choices were easy; there were a few which just instantly stood out to me, and I knew almost straight away the ones that I wanted to share. So, onto the books!

mria 2

First up is The Opposite of You by Lou Morgan. I read her YA debut, Sleepless, after YALC in 2015, as I was just too intrigued by the concept to consider the fact that I am creeped out by horror novels, and was highly spooked as a result! This book seemed to be more contemporary and less horror if we’re judging by the cover, but I’m not making any assumptions, especially when the Goodreads description is mysterious enough for there to be potential for creepiness. When Bex’s twin sister, Naomi, disappears, she has to track her down – and discovers that Naomi wasn’t necessarily who she thought on the way. Publication is the 4th of May by Stripes Publishing.

I Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson is a book I have heard a lot about, which has only increase my keenness to read it. Jemma has cerebral palsy, and is unable to communicate – but she has had a secret shared with her. The blurb hints that the matter of communication could be on the verge of change, which makes me think that this book only gets more intriguing and dramatic. Publication is the 4th of May by Electric Monkey.

The next book is one that looks sure to tug on your heartstrings! Wishbones by Virginia Macgregor is about Feather, whose mother is having health issues after going into a diabetic coma. Feather wants to try to help her mother work out what went wrong so she can move on and get better, and manage to do so in time for her to watch Feather (hopefully) win a competitive swimming race. I am preparing myself for a lot of emotion with this one. Publication is the 23rd of May by HQ.

mria 3

I am very lucky to have received proofs or advance copies of the following books, which is why they’re separate from the rest (although having the chance to read them before publication is another matter!). I received The Fallen Children by David Owen from Non Pratt when I was at the Wing Jones launch, and I was over the moon! I absolutely loved Panther, and I’m happy to say I really enjoyed The Fallen Children too. A bizarre, mysterious, and hard-hitting book, it looks into the events that happen when one night four girls strangely become pregnant with babies that grow too quickly. What follows is both shocking and extraordinary, and the neighbours are angry. Publication is the 4th of May by Atom.

I found out about Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green at the Scholastic Bloggers’ Book Feast in January, and it sounded absolutely hilarious, so I was delighted when I copy of it arrived with me from the lovely people at Scholastic. It centres on Noah, an awkward teen whose life is a bit all over the place – and things only get more out of hand when his best friend, Harry, kisses him at a party. Sadly I haven’t had a chance to read it yet as I’ve been making my way through both a rather large stack of library books that need to go back and some books for school, but I am planning on reading it in May as it sounds so entertaining! Publication is the 4th of May by Scholastic.

And finally is another proof that I feel very lucky to have, Release by Patrick Ness. One of my friends gave me this as she had ended up with two copies (my friends are super cool and generous, what can I say?). I haven’t gotten around to reading this one yet either before of the aforementioned reasons, and I’ve been looking forward to it for ages, so I really want to make time for it soon. Release is about Adam Thorn, a teenager who ends up having a very dramatic day, and the main themes are ones such as love, sexuality, heartbreak. It was inspired by Virginia Woolf’s Mrs Dalloway and Judy Blume’s Forever, and this information has only made me more excited. Publication is the 4th of May by Walker.

Seeing as five out of six of these books are released on the 4th of May, there’s a lot to look forward to in the very beginning of next month!

Are any of these books on your TBR? Which of these are you most excited for?

6 thoughts on “May Releases I’m Anticipating

  1. Eve @ Twist in the Taile says:

    Aah, I really want to read The Fallen Children! I’ve seen a bunch of people who loved it so HOPEFULLY I WILL TOO. I am also very excited for Release because, like, new Patrick Ness. OBVIOUSLY. And Noah Can’t Even, though I still think the cover reminds me of a John Green book. *sweats* I obviously can’t shake the crayon text association haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookendsandendings says:

      Yesss read The Fallen Children, I feel like it’s the kind of book that you would really enjoy! Same, Patrick Ness is just some sort of writing legend. Haha I know what you mean – the cover is rather reminiscent of a John Green book! It’s absolutely hilarious, though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

