April Wrap Up & May TBR

awu mtbr

I have been so pleased with this month, and was really looking forward to sharing all the exciting things I’ve done – there’s been lots of interesting content up on my blog, there have been loads of great ones in the community, and I’ve done so much reading! So, without further ado, on to the wrap up.

This month, I have read:

  1. Margot & Me by Juno Dawson -> read my review!
  2. Girl Hearts Girl by Lucy Sutcliffe -> read my review!
  3. No Virgin by Anne Cassidy
  4. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  5. The Pale Dreamer by Samantha Shannon
  6. Quiet by Susan Cain
  7. With Malice by Eileen Cook
  8. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  9. The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder
  10. We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan
  11. All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher
  12. Free Lunch: Easily Digestible Economics by David Smith
  13. 100 Prized Poems: Twenty-Five Years of the Forward Books edited by William Sieghart
  14. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  15. Three Guineas by Virginia Woolf
  16. Chase by Linwood Barclay
  17. George by Alex Gino
  18. Troublemakers by Catherine Barter
  19. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  20. Silence is Goldfish by Annabel Pitcher
  21. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
  22. Mad Girl by Bryony Gordon
  23. Healthy is the New Skinny by Katie H. Willcox
  24. The Way I See It by Nicole Dryburgh
  25. London Belongs to Us by Sarra Manning

My favourite YA books were Margot & Me (which I wrote a five-star review of!) and Troublemakers, and I also really enjoyed Atonement and Never Let Me Go, even though they were only four-star reads for me, as the themes in them mean I’m still thinking about these books and am very keen to go watch the films too! I’m happy with the balance of YA with other genres this month – I feel like I covered non-fiction, poetry, middle grade, literary fiction, and some academic reading for school as well as lots of lovely YA. I also managed to read almost everything on my list from last month, which I’m happy about.

I’ve done fairly well on my challenges too – eighteen of these books were by British authors (and I’ve posted four reviews for the challenge this month), and twenty of these were published before 2017, although none of them were retellings so I didn’t manage to tick that box on any account.

This month I’ve done some pretty cool stuff on my blog and in the bookish community. I went to the evening in conversation with Angie Thomas and Patrice Lawrence which was amazing, and I held a giveaway of Orangeboy. Over Easter, I participated in the SundayYAthon – I’ve done two of them now, and it was lots of fun – and I also got to interview Danielle Younge-Ullman as part of the blog tour for her gorgeous book, Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined. A series of Blogger Awards were also launched over on Write Through the Night, and I have been nominated by Joce, Kelly, Lia, Bex, and Sarah, which has been very exciting, and I made some nominations myself!

There have been so many good blog posts in the community this month! I normally talk about four posts, but I simply have to stretch it to eight (!) posts because there were too many I had to mention.

And I wanted to mention a post that actually went up in March that I contributed to, but I didn’t realise until earlier this month, on the opinions of young adults on the YA community.

This month, I’m hoping to read:

  1. A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams
  2. False Hearts by Laura Lam
  3. The Problem With Forever by Jennifer Armentrout
  4. Death of a Naturalist by Seamus Heaney
  5. The Guggenheim Mystery by Robin Stevens
  6. Knighthood for Beginners by Elys Dolan
  7. Mold and the Poison Plot by Lorraine Gregory
  8. Kick by Mitch Johnson
  9. If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak
  10. Show Stopper by Hayley Barker
  11. Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green
  12. The Puzzle of Ethics by Peter Vardy
  13. The Puzzle of God by Peter Vardy
  14. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

There’s a lot of middle grade in there (numbers 5 to 8), as I got a lot of MG from the bookshop I review for. This list is overambitious because I have some exams coming up, but I would still like to find time for a bit of reading, even if it’s not as much as normal.

What did you read this month? What are you hoping to read next month?

25 thoughts on “April Wrap Up & May TBR

    • bookendsandendings says:

      Haha I decided to try to get as much of my TBR done as possible over the holiday. George was such a lovely book – and Girl Hearts Girl is so sweet, hope you enjoy! You’re welcome; it was such a great blog post 🙂

      Like

  1. Joce says:

    Awwww thank you so much for mentioning my post, that means so much!!!!!!!!
    Also your books read and TBR looks amazing, although I don’t know any of the books you read. The only book I recognize is Streetcar Named Desire, and I really really liked that play!! It was fun to read a play that WASNT Shakespeare for once!
    Glad you had such a good month!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eve @ Twist in the Taile says:

    WOW, SO MANY BOOKS. I’m in awe, I wish I could read this much! (I should probably spend less time on the internet. But ah well.) It sounds like you read so many wonderful books; I need to read Margot & Me and The Pale Dreamer ASAP. Thanks so much for linking to my post as well, and I shall check out the others you mentioned now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Esther @ Chapter Adventures says:

    First of all, HOW do you read so much?! I don’t have the time/speed/books necessary to read so much and it always amazes me to see how much people can read. Amazing, well done! 😀
    Also, thank you for sharing my post. I hope it helps a newbie or anyone who is lost on that topic like I was 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

