April Book Haul

abh

I’ve decided to start doing monthly book hauls on my blog, as I’m always keen to share what I’ve received in any given month, but I never know when or if I should do a proof haul or a bought haul or what. So, in order to make it a little more straightforward for myself, I’ve decided that I want to do a monthly haul with all the books I’ve bought or received in any month. I do get a lot of my books from the library, but I’m not going to share those books as they have often been returned, and I feel like people tend to do separate library hauls for those instead!

The first four books are the ones I received from the bookshop I review, and they’re all middle grade titles this month. First of all there are two shorter books, which are the top two on the stack. Knighthood for Beginners by Elys Dolan is about Dave, who is learning to become a knight as he does not think he is very good at being a dragon. Mold and the Poison Plot by Lorraine Gregory is about Mold, who has never really fitted in, but must save his friend, Aggy, who is accused of poisoning the king.

Next up are the two longer middle grade titles, which are the middle two books on my pile. I am surprisingly excited to start The Guggenheim Mystery by Robin Stevens, and I remember reading and loving The London Eye Mystery when I was younger, so I’m keen to start the sequel even if it’s by a different author. Kick by Mitch Johnson also intrigued me; it’s about a boy who lives in India and works making football boots in a factory, his dream to become a football star, and the danger he faces when he becomes involved with a dangerous man, Dragon.

Finally, there are the bottom two books, which are The Mime Order and The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon. A little while back, some of my friends and I received copies of The Bone Season and participated in a trailer-making competition for the book, and so the publisher sent us the other books in the series that have been released so far as a thank you. I really enjoyed the first book in the series, so I’m very excited to read the other books in the series.

What books have you received recently? Are you excited for any of these books?

2 thoughts on “April Book Haul

  1. Briana says:

    Ooh, I love middle grade! I’ll have to check some of these out!

    I really admire people who can do hauls because I am simply not organized enough to remember what I acquired during the month. :p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

