The Spring Has Sprung Book Tag

tshs bt.jpg

We are currently in the last third of spring, and so I thought it was definitely about time to do this tag. I spotted it a while ago, when Engie from Musings from Neville’s Navel did it back in March and jotted down that I wanted to do it. Then I realised that it was May, and you can’t really do a spring tag in the summer, so I decided to get a move on and have a go. I wasn’t officially tagged, but Engie left it open to anyone who wanted to the tag, and the questions looked fun.

  1. FLOWERS: Look on your shelves. What is the most beautiful book both inside and out?

My answer for this one would have to be Unboxed by Non Pratt. Not only does this book have one of the most gorgeous covers, but it was also such a tender and emotional book, with superbly developed character, and a heart-wrenching story.

  1. GRASS: What is a book that you find others like way more than you do?

Bit of a controversial opinion here, but for me this would probably be Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Granted I read this quite a while ago, so maybe I should reread it at some point and see if my opinion is the same. I just really couldn’t connect with the story or characters, but everyone else seems to absolutely love this book.

  1. RAIN: What’s a great book that lifts your spirits when you’re down?

Perdita and Honor Cargill’s Waiting for Callback and Take Two are two hilarious books (the latter is the sequel to the former) which I don’t think will ever fail to lift moods! They are so original and entertaining through and through. If you ever feel down, I could almost guarantee that this book would cheer you up.

  1. DEW: What book made you feel alive?

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt is definitely a book that makes you feel alive! Claire and Sef, the two protagonists in this dual narrated novel, undertake a project to raise money where they do truths and dares on YouTube. The dares escalate though, and they end up in some quite scary situations!

  1. STORMS: What book did you find unpredictable?

This one would have to be Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green. There were just so many completely random twists and turns in the story, and I was taken by complete surprise every time because it would come out of nowhere! It always added to the hilarity of the book, which was great.

  1. RAINBOW: What was a book that you struggled with only to be happy that you read it in the end?

I tried to read The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness about four years ago, and just couldn’t really get into it. About two and a half years later, I had another go and really enjoyed it! It took a bit of perseverance, and I had to get into the style, but I did end up really enjoying, so on the whole I’m happy I read it.

  1. CHILLY WEATHER: What’s a book that you couldn’t finish or didn’t enjoy?

Last year I read Flawed by Cecelia Ahern, and I really didn’t like it. I was hoping that I’d enjoy it, as although I’d never read any books by Ahern before, I thought they sounded interesting, but Flawed was just so not the book for me. I didn’t think the characters or the events of the book were logical at all, and the whole thing felt very over-the-top.

  1. WARM WEATHER: What book did you love and want more of?

An easy pick for me, Wing Jones by Katherine Webber. Every page I read was nice, because I loved the book, but sad, because it took me once page closer to the end – so I would love to have more of this book!

  1. GREEN: What book have you not read yet but really want to?

I am really keen to read Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow, which came out last October. I actually have it out from my local library at the moment, but I’ve had to prioritise other books so haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. It looks like rather a heavy book about self-harm, but I’m hoping to learn a lot, and I enjoyed the chapter sample online just before release.

  1. PINK: What book made you feel a strong connection to the characters?

Although I am different to them in many ways, there were elements of the characters in Alice Oseman’s Radio Silence which I could really connect with. Mainly it was that I understood the feeling of having loads of academic pressure weighing down on you! Also, the voice was very teenage, and tapped into a lot of teen culture, such as the internet, social media, YouTube, etc., so it made it very easy to have a strong connection with the characters, being a teen myself.

  1. PURPLE: What book makes you feel safe when you read it?

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson was not the most original or unique book as far as YA goes, but it was cute, and comfortable, and a really nice read to relax. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and there was a definite feeling of safety within it, because what was happening for the characters was involving without being overly dangerous or intense. It was a nice change from some of the other books I read!

  1. ORANGE: What book do you feel is intelligently written?

Atonement by Ian McEwan was such a clever book that was very intelligently written, and even though it’s not YA, I wanted to put it here as it was the first book that sprang to mind when I read this question. I don’t want to say too much, as the ending is so clever and I’d hate to ruin it for anyone, but on the whole this book really made me think and was written in a way that I don’t think I will ever forget it.

  1. YELLOW: What book puts a smile on your face?

I wouldn’t say that all elements of this book put a smile on my face, but the romance bits in The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury had me grinning and squealing. It didn’t last, as the book is very intense and gets very dark, and then things go a bit pear-shaped – although the negative character development is stunningly written throughout the trilogy – but while it latest it was adorable.

That’s that for this tag! I can barely believe we’re almost done with spring already, as I can remember the beginning of March so intensely – and then now we’re in May, and spring is coming to a close. Hope you enjoyed reading my answers to the questions; I’m not going to tag anyone as technically I wasn’t tagged myself, but if you fancy doing the tag, then you should go ahead!

7 thoughts on “The Spring Has Sprung Book Tag

Leave a Reply

