June Releases I’m Anticipating

jria

To be honest, I feel like I say this every month, but wow, this month looks to be an amazing month for books! There are seven books that are released this month that I want to talk about, as they all either looked so fab or sounds so fab that I couldn’t leave them off.

jria 2

First up is Flight of a Starling by Lisa Heathfield. I have both of Lisa Heathfield’s other two novels, and they were both five-star reads for me. Her latest book is about two sisters who have lived with a circus their whole lives, but when things start changing, life becomes different for them. Publication is the 29th of June by Electric Monkey.

Last year I enjoyed When We Collided, so I’m looking forward to reading The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord, her next book. It’s set in a summer camp, which I love as far as settings go, and follows Lucy as her summer gets a shakeup in many ways, some entertaining and some tragic. Publication is the 1st of June by Bloomsbury Children’s Books.

Last of the books that I haven’t read yet is Show Stopper by Hayley Barker. I do feel rather bad for not having read this before now, as I’ve had an ARC in my possession since the Scholastic Bloggers’ Book Feast in January, but I’ve heard so many good things about it so I need to pick it up soon. It follows two characters, Ben and Hoshiko, and is about a circus where the children of the poor perform in a dangerous circus to entertain the rich. Publication is the 1st of June by Scholastic.

jria 3

Next up are the books that I’ve read or am currently reading that come out this month. So I’m currently reading If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak, and I’m really enjoying it. It’s about Linny and Sebastien, who both want to spend time with an elusive filmmaker who recently reappeared – but some romance emerges along the way. I would definitely recommend it so far! I still have plenty of time to finish it as the release date is the 29th of June by Macmillan Children’s Books.

Another book that was truly excellent, although I have finished this one, was Troublemakers by Catherine Barter. Alena, the protagonist, lives with her brother and his boyfriend, and comes up against difficulties when she starts to become more engaged in politics and has to make one important decision. The character development in this book was particularly outstanding, so it’s definitely one I’ll be recommending. Publication is the 1st of June by Andersen Press.

I have read every single one of Non Pratt’s books, and I think every time they manage somehow to be even better than the previous one. I wasn’t sure how she was going to top Unboxed, but Truth or Dare is such a great novel that I think it just about manages to. The pair at the centre of the story, Claire and Sef, are trying to raise money for Sef’s brother, who has recently become disabled and will need funding to be able to stay in his current care home. The novel is great for teenagers, as it includes social media and teen culture excellently, and has diversity, and talks about social issues and teenage problems – a great book on the whole. Publication is the 1st of June by Walker Books.

And finally is One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus. If you haven’t heard of this book I would be pretty surprised, as it has been the talk of the book community for months and months. It’s a classic whodunit mystery, where five teenagers go into detention, but only four come out – leaving them all as suspects in the murder. It is such an intense book, but on the whole massively enjoyable, entertaining, and gripping (although I did have a sneaking suspicion about the culprit). Publication is the 1st of June by Penguin.

Have you read any of these books? What books are you excited for this month?

5 thoughts on “June Releases I’m Anticipating

  1. breenysbooks says:

    Awesome list! I’m looking forward to reading The Names They Gave Us. Emery Lord’s book are such great summer reads.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookendsandendings says:

      Yes, I think Emery Lord’s books have such a summery vibe! Ooh, I’ll have a think about tips (I’m so bad at coming up with advice on the spot, and I think I actually want to do a full blog post on it) but Lia from imaginaryplacesonpaper.wordpress.com is actually starting up a whole series on blogging tips for newbies, so I’d definitely check that out.
      At the moment I’ve got quite a lot on, but as soon as things quieten up a bit I would be more than happy to check out your blog ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

