May Book Haul

mbh

This month, my haul is slightly smaller than the last one, but I was just as excited to post this as ever, if not more so, as they are all such good books. Usually I get some proofs from the bookshop I read for, but because of exams we’re not doing it for this month – I still have some other books to get through though!

First on the pile is Death of a Naturalist by Seamus Heaney. This little (hopefully you can see it in the picture, as it really is rather small!) book of poetry was actually for English Lit, which I study at school – I needed a copy for annotating poems – but I actually really enjoyed it. I read the whole thing when I had a rare spot of free time, as I’d been liking the poems we looked at in class, and it was short but sweet. It also reminded me of how much I love analysing poetry, potentially more than analysing texts and drama.

Then was Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han. I was lucky enough to get a copy of this from Scholastic for review, and seeing as it arrived rather recently, I haven’t had the chance to read it yet, but it is the third instalment in the series about Lara Jean. It came out earlier this month, and I’m really looking forward to finishing off the series.

If you read my post on June releases I’m anticipating, you might have spotted this next book on the list: Show Stopper by Hayley Barker. Scholastic was very generous and sent around finished copies, even though we received proofs too. This book honestly looks so topical and relevant, and it’s extremely high up on my mental list of books to read this summer.

Windfall is the latest novel from Jennifer E. Smith, which I received from Macmillan Children’s Books. The story follows Alice and Ted, and a lottery win. I don’t think that there is anyone who hasn’t ever thought about what they’d do if they won big in the lottery, so I’m really looking forward to seeing how it worked out for these characters, especially when I’ve enjoyed so many of Jennifer E. Smith’s other books.

And finally was Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash, a graphic memoir about self-discovery and sexuality. I really enjoyed this book, and I’m not going to say too much more than this as I’m posting a review very soon.

So these were all the books that I accumulated this month. I’m really enjoying doing book hauls, so I hope you enjoy them too. I’m looking forward to storming through them all once exams finish!

Did you acquire any books this month? Have you read any of these books?

6 thoughts on “May Book Haul

  1. noirerewritten says:

    I just got a book haul as well! This inspired me to make a post about it! I love your content and I’m looking forward to future posts.
    Check out my blog if you get a chance!

    Have a good day!
 Mena from noirerewritten.com 🌷

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

