Blogger Recognition Award

bra

I was delighted to spot about a month or so ago (I’m terrible at doing tags in a timely fashion!) that my lovely friend Steph from A Little But A Lot had tagged me in the Blogger Recognition Award, and my WordPress hadn’t notified me that she’d linked to my blog! Eventually I realised, as I saw that the post was a referrer to my blog, so I knew that I had to the award – it always feels like such an honour to be thought of by a blogger friend for something like that.

Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them & provide the link to the post you created.

How did my blog start?

I started up my blog last summer, actually almost exactly a year ago. I went to YALC in the summer of 2015 and attended a workshop on blogging, so I decided that I wanted to try. Straight after YALC, I created my first blog; I was so keen to get started. However, I didn’t get into a regular posting schedule and was struggling to work out how to balance Twitter chats and blog posts with all the school work I had on (I hadn’t thought about writing posts in advance!). I ended up deleting my blog, but didn’t mean I’d stopped thinking about blogging by any means.

All through that academic year I thought about book blogging, and I kept up with some bloggers and books in the community. I decided that once exams were over, I was going to set up my book blog and have another go at it. Happily for me, my second attempt worked out much better, and I managed to maintain a balance – a year on, it’s still going great.

Two pieces of advice to new bloggers?

My first piece of advice would be to plan before you even start – think out your blog name, your first couple of posts, what your profile picture is going to be. Maybe even write up a few blog posts so you definitely have some regular content for the first few weeks of having your blog. I think there’s obviously appeal to jumping in right away, but I would definitely recommend just thinking things through, and knowing where you’re going with your blog. Knowing why you started can also be motivational if you ever get into a slump!

My other piece of advice would be to do all you can to get involved in the community. There is an absolutely wonderful bookish community just waiting for you to get involved in – on WordPress, on Instagram, on Twitter – where you can meet likeminded people with the same interests as you. You can read and comment on other people’s blogs, you can participate in Twitter chats (I made a list of some), or you can chat on social media. It’s all there, so I would really encourage you to participate in every way you think you’d enjoy.

Who do I nominate?

These were all my bookish pals and faves who immediately sprang to mind – although I’m sure there could be some obvious ones I’ve missed.

One thought on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Eve @ Twist in the Taile says:

    I admit that my blog brand definitely hasn’t been consistent, haha — I started out on an impulse and then gradually it evolved into what it is today. (Having gone through various forms.) I think it would be really interesting to see how I’d do things differently if I started over though! And oooh, that workshop sounds really cool — I don’t think I actually went to any workshops when I attended YALC, alas, but I WOULD LIKE TO THIS YEAR. Thanks for nominating me! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

