The School Book Tag

tsbt

When I saw that Eve from Twist in the Taile (a really awesome blog, by the way, which you should definitely check out) had done this tag and left it open for others to do as well, I knew I definitely wanted to do it at some point. It looked like a lot of fun, and definitely worth trying out. The original creator of the tag was Chloe from Diary of a Lonely Girl, so have a look at the original if you want.

Rules:

  • Mention the creator of the tag.
  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the following with the book that most fits the statement.
  • Nominate 3 others to do the tag.

MATHS: a book that has two characters that equal perfection

radio-silenceRadio Silence by Alice Oseman has two characters, Aled and Francis, which I simply adored when I was reading it. I mean, on the whole it was just such a good book, and Alice Oseman’s books generally have fantastically developed characters. These two characters, though, were just so amazing; they have this incredible bond, but they defy convention in that they are only ever friends, and neither want anything other than that.

SCIENCE: a book that I found hard to get into

kgsKid Got Shot by Simon Mason was a book that I struggled to get ‘into’. To be fair, I was reading it in order to provide a review to my local independent bookshop, and I hadn’t actually read the first book about the characters, Running Girl, so the fact that I struggled with it wasn’t entirely down to the book. However, I didn’t really like the characters, and it’s not a series I think I want to return.

ENGLISH: a book that should be a modern classic

oeyOnly Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill is a book that I treasure. I’ve read it three times, and it’s so hard-hitting and powerful that I would definitely read it again at some point. It’s been described as The Handmaid’s Tale crossed with Mean Girls, and seeing as the former is already a modern classic, and is studied in schools, I think that Only Ever Yours would be a perfect book to add to both the list of modern classics and to the curriculum.

PE: a book that I raced to the finish with

take twoTake Two by Perdita and Honor Cargill is the sequel to Waiting for Callback, and I honestly loved both of these books so much. They are just so original and hilarious! I started Take Two just before I went to bed, and when I woke up I kept reading, and basically didn’t do anything else until I finished it. To be honest, I sort of gave up on doing other stuff as I knew I wouldn’t concentrate on it properly until I was done.

MUSIC: a book that reminds you of a song

seSaving Elliot by Rose North isn’t actually a published book, but it was the first one that came to mind for me, so I’m going with it anyway. This story is on Wattpad, an online story-sharing platform, and I absolutely loved it and could not stop talking about it when I read it in 2013. To this day, whenever I hear the song ‘True Love’ by Pink (or P!nk?), I cannot help but think of this story. (I’ve talked about this book and my love for it before, if you think it sounds familiar!)

I’m not going to tag anyone as I wasn’t officially tagged, but if you feel like doing this, then I think you should go ahead 🙂 If you have any particular ideas about what you would have answered these questions with, please do let me know in the comments! I’m always interested to hear what you would have said.

6 thoughts on “The School Book Tag

  1. Lauren says:

    Nice choices! I’m super excited to read Radio Silence because I’ve heard so many good things about it. I really like that it defies conventions in the sense that the main characters don’t end up together. And I’ve also heard there’s bisexual and asexual rep, which is great 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eve @ Twist in the Taile says:

    Thank you as ever for the shout-out, and I’m so glad you enjoyed doing this! ❤ OMG YES ALED AND FRANCES ARE THE BEST. I am always so happy to flail about Radio Silence haha. I totally agree about Only Ever Yours too; it's a book which has definitely stuck with me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookendsandendings says:

      You’re welcome – I feel like I’m always getting content-related inspiration from your blog! Just Radio Silence in general is absolute perfection, but especially Aled and Frances. Only Ever Yours is honestly so harrowing and unforgettable – I think it’s a Louise O’Neill books thing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

