Rapid Fire Book Tag

rapid fire book tag

A while ago, I spotted that Amy Powis, who I know from the Twitter chat SundayYA, had done this tag on her blog, and left it open for others to do the tag. I thought it looked like fun, so I thought I’d have a go at it on my blog too!

  1. E-book or physical book?

I prefer physical books, but I do read e-books as books can be cheaper on Kindle, and you get classics for free.

  1. Paperback or hardback?

Paperbacks as they are cheaper, more portable, and fit better on my shelves – although I do like how it’s harder to crack the spine of a hardback.

  1. Online or in-store book shopping?

Wherever I have vouchers for! Otherwise, in-store if I find something while casually browsing, online if I’ve set about to buy something particular.

  1. Trilogies or series?

Trilogies as then there’s a definitive point; I like knowing how many books there are going to be.

  1. Heroes or villains?

Whichever is better developed/more interesting in the book.

  1. A book you want everyone to read?

Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne! I actually wrote a blog post about it at Christmas about how it’s the book which I would give as a gift to pretty much anyone, so obviously I think that translates into the idea that everyone should read it.

  1. Recommend an underrated book?

Panther by David Owen – I’ve barely seen it talked about in the community, but it’s so insightful and touching and raw.

  1. The last book you finished?

 Prisoners of Geography by Tim Marshall – an interesting book on global politics!

  1. The last book you bought?

My sister and I jointly bought The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord recently, which I’m really looking forward to reading.

  1. Weirdest thing you’ve used as a bookmark?

Probably like an old receipt or my arm/foot.

  1. Used books: yes or no?

Yes, because they’re less expensive

  1. Top three favourite genres?

Young adult, obviously, contemporary, and then feminist (I’m guessing it’s a genre?).

  1. Borrow or buy?

Borrow if I can, as I read so much I can’t buy every book I read and there’s no room on my shelves, but if I really want to support an author then I’ll buy.

  1. Characters or plot?

Both, of course!

  1. Long or short books?

Depends on my mood and the genre.

  1. Long or short chapters?

Again, depends on the book. I think I’d go for medium length chapters on the whole, as it gets tiring if the chapters are too long, but short chapters can be a bit jumpy for my liking.

  1. Name the first three books you think of . . .

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon, Wing Jones by Katherine Webber, The Kissing Booth by Beth Reekles.

  1. Books that made you laugh or cry?

Waiting for Callback by Perdita and Honor Cargill made me laugh so much; The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness made me cry a lot.

  1. Our world or fictional worlds?

Our world; I’d love to experience fictional worlds, but I wouldn’t want to make a permanent trade.

  1. Audiobooks: yes or no?

I haven’t used one in ages! It’s just faster for me to read, so I guess it’s a no.

  1. Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

I mean, I don’t like to admit it, but totally. Not once I’ve read it, but I’m more likely to grab a pretty or striking cover.

  1. Book to movie or book to TV adaptations?

As long as it’s done well and works nicely, I don’t mind either way.

  1. A movie or TV-show you preferred to its book?

The Duff and Nerve – I thought both movies were much better than the books.

  1. Series or standalones?

Standalones – I do read some series though.

I’m not tagging anyone as I wasn’t really tagged myself, but obviously if you want to do the tag, then feel free.

4 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. Alyssa says:

    I’m right there with you on trilogies. I side-eye friends who give me recs for series, and then they’re like: It’s so great, I’m on book 21! Like, are you kidding me? Dragging me into that? It better be AMAZINGLY crafted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

