Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

Picture1

I always knew that I wanted to do a ‘favourite books of 2017 so far’ style blog post, so when I saw this tag I decided that this would be perfect but just didn’t get around to doing it. Then, when I was tagged by Bex (thank you for nomination!), I decided that I was just going to do it, and here we are!

  1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

I can’t just pick one for this (off to a great start!), but I think I can narrow it down to two, one published in 2017, and one from before. I adored Troublemakers by Catherine Barton, as it had such amazing characterisation, and I loved Nina is Not OK by Shappi Khorsandi, a tough but eye-opening read.

  1. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017?

Again, two choices necessary here, but I’ve loved Traitor to the Throne by Alywn Hamilton, which was just so intense and cleverly done, and Take Two by Honor and Perdita Cargill, just as hilarious as the first book.

  1. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

Ooh, I really want to get around to reading Release by Patrick Ness, and The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas – two very different books, but they sound super good in their own ways.

  1. Most anticipated release for second half of 2017?

I’m lucky enough to have an ARC of this (thanks to my friend Grace, whose blog is much more than almost amazing), but definitely The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James. This sounds like such a good one, and I’m so excited to read it!

  1. Biggest disappointment?

Definitely Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence – I really wanted to love this book, and I’ve heard so much praise for it, but sadly it just wasn’t one for me.

  1. Biggest surprise?

Not a YA pick, but The Colour Purple by Alice Walker. As a modern classics, I knew it would be good, but I was really surprised by just how much I enjoyed it.

  1. Favourite new author (debut or new to you)?

In terms of YA, Katherine Webber, who wrote the amazing Wing Jones which came out in January. In terms of classics, Oscar Wilde – his epigrams are just so hilarious, and I’ve loved studying An Ideal Husband.

  1. Newest fictional crush?

Um, I don’t know? I haven’t read many romances, so nothing springs to mind for this!

  1. Newest favourite character?

Back to Wing Jones, but definitely Wing! She had so much personality, and was just such a brilliant protagonist, I absolutely loved reading about her.

  1. Book that made you cry?

This is going to make me sound so heartless, but I actually can’t think of any!

  1. Book that made you happy?

Hmm, quite a lot, as generally reading makes me happy! Recently, though, If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak, and Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash.

  1. Favourite book to movie adaptation you saw this year?

Definitely A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – I actually wrote a blog post comparing the book and film, and talking about how much I enjoyed it!

  1. Favourite review you’ve written this year?

Maybe my review of Noah Can’t Even by Simon James Green, which I did as part of Scholastic’s celebration of Pride month.

  1. Most beautiful book you bought or received so far this year?

Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash, courtesy of Walker Books, was a graphic novel I wouldn’t have been aware of if I hadn’t gotten a copy from them, and I honestly just loved all the illustrations, and thought it was so pretty.

  1. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

So so many! But off the top of my head, lots of academic books for school, my YALC TBR, as well as some other YA books – A Shiver of Snow and Sky by Lisa Luedeke and The Upside of Unrequired by Becky Albertalli spring to mind for me.

So that was my mid-year freak out tag! It’ll be interested to see how things evolve over the read of the year.

I tag:

4 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

  1. goldenbooksgirl says:

    Really enjoyed reading your answers for this (I am woefully late doing this tag so I really must get round to it soon!). I’m also really glad to see that it’s not just me with Orangeboy. I disliked it so much I didn’t actually finish it. Amy x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

