Review: Troublemakers by Catherine Barter

61dJy51CxxL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgTitle: Troublemakers
Author: Catherine Barter
Publisher: Andersen
UK Release Date: 1st June 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 384
Format: Proof
Source: Local independent bookshop

A Great Read – less than RRP!

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

‘In three years I will be able to vote and I will still have less power than I did at the moment that I saw that email, which was such a tiny thing but look what happened.’

Fifteen-year-old Alena never really knew her political activist mother, who died when she was a baby. She has grown up with her older half-brother Danny and his boyfriend Nick in the east end of London. Now the area is threatened by a bomber who has been leaving explosive devices in supermarkets. It is only a matter of time before a bomb goes off.

Against this increasingly fearful backdrop, Alena seeks to discover more about her past, while Danny takes a job working for a controversial politician. As her family life implodes, and the threat to Londoners mounts, Alena starts getting into trouble. Then she does something truly rebellious.

A searing, heart-breaking coming-of-age tale for fans of Lisa Williamson, Jenny Downham and Sarah Crossan.

When I attended YALC 2017, I was lucky enough to get my proof of Troublemakers signed – and it was then that I realised that, although I had gushed about this book on Twitter and briefly in other blog posts, I had not yet done a full length review. I decided that I needed to write up a full review straight away, as I really did adore this book!

Continue reading

Advertisements

New Year’s Resolutions Book Tag

nyrbt

So I know that it has been over three weeks since 2018 began, but since I was busy participating in blog tours, it slipped my mind to post about my bookish resolutions for this year. Happily, my lovely sister Bex (from My Shelf and Myself) tagged me in the New Year’s Resolution tag. I thought that doing this would let me do a tag and flesh out my resolutions on the blog, so it’s all worked out quite nicely. Anyway, on to the tag!

Continue reading

Shortlisted for the #UKYABA

ukyaba

To be honest, I’ve been debating whether or not to write a thank you and acknowledgement post for this. Ever since I stopped doing monthly wrap ups (I got very behind, and then haven’t started them again), I feel like I haven’t been able to write updates particularly on what’s going on in my blogging life, as I wouldn’t want to turn them into a whole post, yet they never really slot in at the bottom of anything. Anyway, that’s beside the point – today, I wanted to make an exception to what seems to have become the rule to share some exciting news: I’ve been shortlisted in the UKYA Blogger Awards!

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Extract from Shell by Paula Rawsthorne

Welcome back to my blog! Today I’m excited to be participating in another blog tour, this one for Shell by Paula Rawsthorne.

41QVfz4K3PL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

What if you thought you had died, only to wake up in someone else’s body? When Lucy, a teen diagnosed with terminal cancer wakes up cancer-free, it should be a dream come true. But faced with a life she didn’t choose and trapped in a new body, Lucy must face the biggest question of all . . . How far would you go to save the one you love?

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Review of The Fandom by Anna Day

FandomTitle: The Fandom
Author: Anna Day
Publisher: Chicken House
UK Release Date: 4th January 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Proof
Source: Publisher

A Great Read* – less than RRP!

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Cosplay ready, Violet and her friends are at Comic-Con.

They can’t wait to meet the fandom of mega movie, The Gallows Dance. What they’re not expecting is to be catapulted by freak accident into their favourite world – for real. Fuelled by love, guilt and fear, can the friends put the plot back on track and get out? The fate of the story is in their hands . . .

A fast-paced, genre-flipping YA fantasy adventure from a brand new author, writing in homage to the best YA fiction.

-> Thank you to Chicken House for sending me a copy of The Fandom in exchange for an honest review!

I am super excited that not only today am I sharing my review of The Fandom (one of my favourite books of 2017!), but I am also participating in the blog tour! I stayed up way into the night reading this book, and then spent the next morning recounting the plot and talking about how cool it was to anyone would listen, so it’s great to have the chance to rave about it some more – although don’t worry, this review will be spoiler free.

Continue reading