LGBT YA Recommendations

Absolutely ages ago, I wanted to write a blog post on LGBT YA for National Coming Day in October (2016!), but I was rather busy at that time of year, so I didn’t end up being able to write the post in time. However, I had taken all the photographs for it, with a lovely rainbow of LGBT YA, so I figured why not do the post anyway? After all, it’s not LGBT don’t just come out once a year, so the recommendations are still important to share!

Continue reading

Advertisements

How Do You Decide What To Review?

discussion.jpg

Today I wanted to do a discussion post, as I hadn’t done one for ages, and the last one I wrote had an excellent response, with loads of discussion in the comments. Something I’ve wanted to discuss for ages is how you decide what you’re going to review. I have quite a specific way of choosing, so I was curious to explain how I decide, and then see what other people do as well.

First of all, I review what I’m sent. I’m lucky enough to sometimes be sent books from publishers or authors, and so as a matter of course, I’ll try to review those books first. However, I think that try is the active word here; I don’t always manage to prioritise them, and sometimes I can take a couple of months to get around to both reading and reviewing a book. I definitely try to get out a review for something before publication, or at least near publication, if I’ve asked for it – this seems like a fair thing to do in my opinion.

Continue reading

Review: Truth or Dare by Non Pratt

tod.jpgTitle: Truth or Dare
Author: Non Pratt
Publisher: Walker Books
UK Release Date: 1st June 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 304
Format: Proof
Source: Local independent bookshop

A Great Read* – less than RRP!

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

A powerful and moving novel about bravery from the Guardian’s “writer to watch” Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne.

How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you’re willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?

  • Trigger warning (highlight as contains a spoiler): sexual assault.

I am a big fan of Non Pratt, both as an author and also as a person, so I was hugely excited to receive a proof of this back in late February from my local independent bookshop. I thoroughly enjoyed Unboxed by her as well, so eagerly got started, and overall I really enjoyed this book of hers too.

Continue reading

Trying Samplers – Part Three

I’m back with part three of my series on trying samplers. I’ve got another five lined up for today, three of which publish in October, and two which are being published in January (is it just few, or are far fewer books published in November and December than other months?). Anyway, there were some good books in here, so I’m excited to get reading the samplers for them – and then hopefully the full books as well.

Continue reading

Middle Grade Reading Wrap Up #2

mgrwu2.jpg

Back in the early spring, I did a post on some middle grade reading that I’d done, giving a little wrap up of some of the books I’d read, and I thought I’d do another one today. I don’t read masses of middle grade fiction, because as a general rule I much prefer YA. However, when I read for my local bookshop, I do often get some middle grade as well as YA to read for them, so some inevitably ends up mixed in. Today I’m talking about a couple of middle grade books that I’ve read over the last few months, in order to mix things up a little on my blog.

Continue reading

This or That Tag

tott.jpg

One blog that does a lot of tags which are really entertaining is Lia from Lost in a Story. She often ends the tag by saying that anyone who wants to do it can do so – and of course when they look fun, I always want to. A while back in December 2016, I bookmarked a bunch of tags from her blog that I wanted to try out, and sadly didn’t get round to them till now, but here is the first of the bunch – the This or That tag!

Continue reading